Eye Candy

This copyrighted post, “Eye Candy” was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

There are many daylilies with  “candy” in their names.  The one I have is Custard Candy, and it has just started blooming.  It has a creamy white ruffled petals which have a wine-colored eye and a green throat.  This is one of my favorite daylilies.  The petals really do remind you of vanilla custard.  This has been a great daylily in my garden. 

 

 

One of the most popular of the candy daylilies is Strawberry Candy.  This is a lovely pink daylily.  Google has revealed a treasure trove of other candy daylilies.  Others that I found are Wineberry Candy, Andy Candy, Spacecoast Cotton Candy, Chocolate Candy, Elegant Candy, Rainbow Candy, Siloam Ribbon Candy, Raspberry Candy, Blackberry Candy, Awesome Candy, Blueberry Candy, Bountiful Candy, Cherry Candy, Bountiful Candy, Exotic Candy, Orchid Candy, Peach Candy, Plum Candy, Sweet Sugar Candy, and Vanilla Candy.  Most of these were developed by Stamile, and many are new for 2008.  Each one is prettier than the next.

 

Wouldn’t it be great to have a whole daylily garden bed of just “candies”?

 

 

6 Comments

  1. Nancy Bond said,

    May 20, 2008 at 7:55 pm

    This one really does look like a creamy custard. Gorgeous!

  2. Jan said,

    May 21, 2008 at 4:21 am

    It sure does, Nancy. After seeing some of the beautiful newer candies, I am seriously considering adding some of them to the area with Custard Candy.

  3. Randy said,

    May 21, 2008 at 6:23 am

    Jan,
    Your pictures are beautiful. Every time I read your blog I always learn something new. Thank you for your dedication, you are an inspiration to all us slackers. 🙂

  4. Jan said,

    May 21, 2008 at 3:19 pm

    Oh, Randy, thank you for the compliment. Since I enjoy reading garden blogs so much, I try to make my posts interesting to reciprocate the efforts of others. Thanks again.

  5. chey said,

    May 21, 2008 at 5:42 pm

    I love daylilies with creamy petals and colorful eyes. That’s a great shot of Custard Candy! I have a few candies in my own garden, including Wineberry Candy, Elegant Candy, Spacecoast Cotton Candy and Precious Candy. Great post!

  6. Jan said,

    May 21, 2008 at 6:11 pm

    Thanks, Chey. I snapped that picture about 6:15am just before I left for work. I wanted to show it at its best before the sun beat down on it all day. I just saw Spacecoast Cotton Candy on the internet last night, and it is so gorgeous. I am thinking I need that one for my garden. Thanks for stopping by.


Leave a Reply

