My First

“My First”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

I can remember it so well.  It seems like it was only yesterday.  I am referring to my first real plant purchase many years ago that started me on my way to being a true gardener.  When we bought our house, it had many large gardenia bushes and a few azaleas near the front of the house, and some yuccas around the patio, but that was about all.  No garden beds, no annuals, no real color.  Buying your first home and being six months pregnant was pretty overwhelming, so the yard was maintained by dear hubby who basically cut the grass.  My daughter was born in late November, and that fall and winter turned out to be the coldest in twenty years.  We even had an ice storm (unheard of in south Louisiana)  Having a tiny baby and going back to work kept me pretty busy that spring and summer.  But, when the fall came, Wal-mart had packages of daylilies.  I thought it was time to start planting a garden and excitedly purchased two packs of dry, bare root daylilies called Plum Tree.

 

 

These plants were tiny, but my hopes for a garden were large.  So, in the ground they went.  They soon went dormant.  I didn’t know about dormant daylilies then, so I thought they had died.  But, the next spring, they popped up and grew into small plants that didn’t bloom.  Disappointment prevailed.  The next year they did send out a few blooms, and the next year even more.  These daylilies have become very prolific bloomers and do very well here in the heat and humidity.  They have just started blooming, taking over when my yellow daylilies’ flowers are tapering off.

 

These are small daylilies, but they make up in flowers what they lack in size.  These are in full sun, but the color does not fade as some of the darker daylilies will.  Having the original plants after twenty years show that daylilies can be very long-lived.  It was many years before I went on to purchase more daylilies, but pretty, little Plum Tree, being the first, will always have a special place in my garden.

3 Comments

  1. Nancy Bond said,

    May 23, 2008 at 8:54 pm

    Your little Plum Tree is beautiful. All day lilies make such a wonderful addition to any garden.

  2. May 23, 2008 at 10:44 pm

    What a great story! You know of all the flowers I’ve grown, I’ve never done daylilies. You’ve talked me in to it.

  3. Jan said,

    May 24, 2008 at 4:24 am

    Nancy, I couldn’t agree more. As I am adding more and more perennials to my garden, daylilies are playing a big role.

    Flowergardengirl, I can’t believe you have not done daylilies. You won’t be sorry if you add them to your garden. They are just great all-around plants. Great blooms, easy to care plants, and fantastic shapes and colors make these a must for your garden.


Leave a Reply

