Pretty in Pink

“Pretty in Pink”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

On the north side of our property is the garden area where shades of pink, with a few purple accents, predominate.  This is where I first planted azaleas that were a pinky-purple shade.  To prevent color clashes when the azaleas were in bloom, I started planting other shrubs and perennials that would blend in with the azaleas, and before I knew it I had a pink garden.

 

 Here are a few that are blooming right now. 

 

 

 

This hydrangea is really white, but the last two years it has opened as a very pale pink that fades to white.  I have noticed this pink to white in other of my white-blooming plants, namely Iceberg rose and a white New Guinea impatiens.

 

 

This is Blushing Knockout Rose.  It has just started to put out another flush of blooms.  The Japanese Beetles chomped on it a bit about two weeks ago, but it is bouncing back quickly.  I have just started having problems with those beetles.  I am thinking I need to do something about them, but if the neighbors do not,  am I just wasting my time and money?

 

 

 

The Cashmere Bouquet (Clerodendrum bungei) is really starting to put on a show.  The top photo shows the buds just starting to open.  I love the dark rose color of the buds next to the lighter pink open flowers.

 

The pink Vitex tree is starting to bloom, but not enough flowers are open to make a good photo.  My big crinum is in that area too, and it also has bloom stalks that will be open any day now. 

 

So, whether it is pastel pink, pale pink, medium pink, hot pink, or cherry blossom pink, it has a place in this garden.

4 Comments

  1. Nancy Bond said,

    May 25, 2008 at 9:01 pm

    While I personally love color clashes in the garden, your shades of pink are very beautiful — all slightly different hues, but blended so nicely. Very pretty!

  2. Jan said,

    May 26, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    Thanks, Nancy. In the back garden is where I have a mixture of colors, but the front gardens have a color theme.

  3. Randy said,

    May 27, 2008 at 6:14 am

    Jan,
    Be sure to post that Pink Vitex when you get a good picture of it, I’ve never seen one. Your red, white and blue post was a very clever one. 🙂 You are “Always Thinking” as well as ‘Always Growing’

  4. Jan said,

    May 27, 2008 at 3:08 pm

    Randy, I should be able to post a pic of the pink Vitex any day now. Thanks for noticing the red, white, and blue post. I wondered if anyone would notice.


Leave a Reply

