Summer Vacation Plans

“Summer Vacation Plans”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Today is the first day of my summer vacation.  I’m off for the next two months.  I am hoping to finally finish getting the garden in shape. I have big plans; let’s just hope the body can withstand the heat now that the onset of hot weather is here. 

 

I had to water the entire garden this morning since we have not had any rain in almost a week.  I was out very early and was happy to see three new daylilies blooming.  The first one is Little Missy that I planted last year.

 

 

The next two are ones from Oakes Daylilies that my sister sent me in March.  I am so pleased with their daylilies.  I don’t know which one I like best.

 

 

 

These are the first flowers for these three, but there are many buds so they should be blooming for some time.  Just about three more of the Oakes ones left to bloom.  It is kind of fun waiting to find out what they will look like.

 

The first bloom on the Night Blooming Cereus was discovered this morning and there are at least two that should open tonight.

 

 

I got this plant from a neighbor a few years ago.  It seems to be blooming a little earlier this year.  I have a different one from my mom, and it does not look like it is ready to bloom any time soon. 

 

Today, I worked on getting rid of the green spider plants that have taken over by the back door.  I cut them back last year, but now they have to be ripped out.  They can really take over and be hard to take out.  Most have to be dug out, not just pulled out.  I don’t even remember how they got started there.  Probably I thought they would make a good ground cover, so I just let them go.  Boy, was that a mistake.

 

Tomorrow, I am going to try and transplant a few thing so that I can finally plant the Blushing Knockout roses in the garden.  I am trying to make realistic goals for each day instead of grand plans that can be discouraging if not carried out.  But now, I’m going to see if the other Cereus flowers are opening so that I can enjoy their wonderful fragrance.

4 Comments

  1. Nancy Bond said,

    May 28, 2008 at 10:52 am

    What gorgeous lilies! The one in the second photo is particularly striking. Enjoy your vacation!

  2. Jan said,

    May 28, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    Thanks, Nancy. I think that daylily is Midnight Masquerade. After looking at the website of Oakes Daylilies, that is the one that seems to match mine. Since the ones I received were a mixture and not labled, that is my best guess. It is even prettier in person.

  3. May 30, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    Wow- Night Blooming Cereus is cool!!

  4. Jan said,

    May 31, 2008 at 5:39 am

    Yes, Wicked Gardener, it is a wonderful flower. I am hoping my other type will bloom this year, but it may be too small. It has a different shape flower, collapses faster than this one and will not last until morning, so it must be seen at night or before sunrise.


Leave a Reply

