Vitex – Blue and Pink

“Vitex – Blue and Pink”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Ever since my mother planted a Vitex tree many years ago, I have wanted one of these trees.  They have such pretty flowers and they come at a time when many of our showy plants have stopped blooming.  I never could find one at our local nurseries, and finally, my mother had two sprouts show up that she cared for until they were a good size.  These two ended up in my garden about seven years ago.  One is the front yard and the other is in the back yard.  They are growing bigger now that some trees came down, and there is more sun for them.

 

 

This tree grows to about 15 feet, is deciduous, and is hardy to zone 6 (though it may die back in winter and remain shrub size that far north).  Around here it starts blooming at the end of May, and if the flowers are trimmed back, it will send out new blooms.  Hummingbirds and bees love this plant.  Once established, this tree needs very little water.  It is often planted alongside highways because of its drought tolerance.

 

This is the pink Vitex tree I planted in the spring of 2007.  It is not very big yet, but with more sun, I am sure it will soon as big as the blue one.

 

 

I read about the pink form in a gardening book, and surprisingly, had little trouble locating one at a nursery near here.  Maybe these trees are becoming more popular around here and are now available.  If I am outside working in the garden, walkers always stop and ask what the name of this tree is.  Maybe if more people become interested in buying out of the ordinary plants, more will be made available for all of us.

11 Comments

  1. Nancy Bond said,

    May 31, 2008 at 6:38 pm

    These are beautiful trees; I especially like the blue one! Unique.

  2. Jan said,

    June 1, 2008 at 9:57 am

    Hi, Nancy. I think the blue is still my favorite. The pink is nice and different. It also fits in well with the “pink” garden. These are just great small trees to have in a garden.

  3. Frances said,

    June 2, 2008 at 3:48 am

    Hi Jan, your vitex looks healthy and happy, good for you! I planted eight of these at my daughter’s house along her fence at the top of a steep hill several years ago and they are over ten feet tall now and bloom all summer, not in bloom just yet though. They are rarely used around here, even though they are a great xeric choice. I love your pink one, will have to look for it.

    Frances at Faire Garden

  4. Jan said,

    June 2, 2008 at 4:24 am

    Hi, Frances. Your daughter is lucky to have eight of these great tree. I can just imagine what a lovely sight it must be when they are all in bloom.

  5. June 2, 2008 at 8:03 am

    You’re right about the butterflies, Jan!

    My current vitex is about 4-feet tall, but in some parts of Austin old vitex trees grow 25-feet tall and are equally as wide, making thickety growth with clouds of blue. From my experience at the last house and in friends’ gardens, they tolerate heavy pruning which is the only way they’ll fit into some of our yards!

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  6. Phillip said,

    June 2, 2008 at 8:27 am

    I’m always telling people that they should plant this tree instead of crepe myrtles, which are so over-used here. I have three of them and absolutely love them.

  7. Jan said,

    June 2, 2008 at 11:03 am

    Annie, I’ve never seen one that tall. The tallest I’ve ever seen is at my mother’s, it is about 15 feet. From the second story windows, the tree when in bloom is spectacular. A 25 footer in bloom must be something to see. I can’t wait until mine are taller.

    Phillip, these would make a good substitute for crepemyrtles. The vitex doesn’t have the problems that crepemyrtles do – aphids, sooty mold, etc.

  8. James Norris said,

    June 22, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    I would love to order some Mississippi Blue or Montrose Vitex for fall delivery. Does anyone know where I can place such an order?

    • Jan said,

      June 22, 2010 at 6:13 pm

      James, I found this nursery online that listed Mississippi Blue,
      Taylor’s Nursery, Inc.
      3705 New Bern Avenue
      Raleigh, North Carolina 27610
      Mon-Fri 8:00am-5:00pm EST
      Tel: (919) 231-6161 • Fax: (919) 231-7688

      Also Rare Find Nursery listed it,
      but it was sold out.

      http://www.nichegardens.com had the Montrose listed.
      Hope this helps.

      • James Norris said,

        June 24, 2010 at 1:04 pm

        Jan, Thank you very much. You have been most helpful.

      • Jan said,

        June 24, 2010 at 6:52 pm

        You are welcome. Hope you find what you want.


Leave a Reply

