Sunshine in the Garden

“Sunshine in the Garden”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

As part of my plan to finish up getting the garden in shape, I have divided it up into six areas.  I work on one area a day, with Sunday as a day of rest.  This has helped me be more focused.  I am not looking at different areas and getting worked up over unfinished or unweeded parts of the garden.  I concentrate on only one section a day.

 

Today I worked on the circle garden side which gets morning sun.  Going out around 6:30 AM to beat the heat, I started on the property line bed.  I pulled more Virginia Creeper, privet seedlings, and honeysuckle vines out that had grown since Easter.  I took the advice of Carol of May Dreams Gardens and used a hoe on the myriad little seedlings of privet and creeper.  It really saved my back. 

 

It wasn’t until I started on the circle garden itself that the sun really started to beat down in earnest.  I was working on cleaning up the edges of the two semi-circular and the circle beds of grass that had crept in over the winter.  The sun was so hot it almost felt like it was burning my skin.  Of course, I had on sunscreen and a large hat, but by 11:30 I had had it.  I did not finish the circular bed, but I will just do it another day.  Maybe I should wait until 6:30 PM when the sun is not shining there anymore.

 

But, to get to more pleasant sunny images – yellow flowers in the garden.

 

 

This double yellow hibiscus is called Full Moon and bloomed today.  When it and the peach ones are blooming together it reminds me of citrus fruits.  Sometimes I float them in the birdbath, alternating the colors.

 

 

This is another of the Oakes Daylilies.  This bloom is a large yellow one.  I can’t wait for this one to multiply.  It really stands out in the garden.

 

Well, the heat of summer is upon us here in the Gulf South.  When working in the garden with the sun beating down and no rain in sight, it would be nice for an occasional cloud to come by.  Today, I would have rather have had the yellow of flowers instead of the hot yellow sun.

6 Comments

  1. Nancy Bond said,

    June 2, 2008 at 10:12 pm

    Sunny blooms in a sunny garden — lovely!

  2. Jan said,

    June 3, 2008 at 5:58 am

    Thanks, Nancy. You always leave just the right comment.

  3. Phillip said,

    June 3, 2008 at 6:59 am

    I’ve tried that strategy myself but I’m not good at it. I always find myself working on something I hadn’t planned on doing. I’m still working on it though. That is a beautiful hibiscus.

  4. Jan said,

    June 3, 2008 at 5:43 pm

    Well, Phillip, I have been able to keep this up for almost a week now. I hope I can do it enough so that it becomes a habit. It seems to be working for staying ahead of the routine maintenance of a garden.

  5. Randy said,

    June 4, 2008 at 6:27 am

    To me there is nothing more beautiful than a yellow flower. I think if I had to pick a favorite color for a flower that would be it.

  6. Jan said,

    June 4, 2008 at 10:49 am

    Yellow is becoming more and more a favorite of mine, too, Randy. I think it is because it is such a cheery color esp. on cloudy days or when in the shadows.


Leave a Reply

