Tearing Out Star Jasmine

“Tearing Out Star Jasmine”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

I will never, ever allow confederate jasmine in my garden again. 

 

Don’t get me wrong.  I love the petite white flowers, and the fragrance on a spring day or night is wonderful, but it is not worth trying to keep this in check.  As I posted in January, I ripped out the confederate jasmine that was growing up the side of the house.  Well, it is coming back.  It is not growing so much up as out.  I started today to pull out what was beginning to creep into the entry garden and lawn and ended up exhausted, sore, and way behind the jasmine.  After working about two hours in the heat, I was able to clear out only about a five foot section, and I am not sure I got all of the runners. 

 

I have not ever used any type of herbicide in all the years of gardening because I just am not comfortable with them, but I may have to resort to doing so now.  This stuff is just too much.  My last attempt will be to have the head groundskeeper (dear hubby) run the lawn mower over everything and then see if it will be easier to rip this stuff out without all the vines being tangled up.

 

In the past, we would have freezes that would occasionally knock it back and keep it in check.   Since that hasn’t happened in several years, I was unprepared for how this would grow and become an overwhelming job.  But I am determined to get rid of this vine once and for all.  It just may take me a while to do so.

 

Now, that I am all worked up again about this daunting task, to calm down a bit here are some photos of more well behaved plants.

 

 

 

This sage was given to me about five years ago by my daughter’s neighbor.  I like it for its true blue color.  It gets very tall, but in the back of the border, it looks great.

 

 

The bee balm returned from last year and is blooming.  I am thinking of transplanting some of it to the entry garden where a little more purple is needed.

 

Ahh, looking at flower photos has calmed me down.  I’ve almost forgot about that #*@*# vine.

6 Comments

  1. Mary Beth said,

    June 8, 2008 at 1:55 pm

    The sap from confederate jasmine makes one of my sister-in-laws break out in a gosh-awful looking rash – so I got to listen to her complaints as she removed it from her garden. Me – I love the stuff and its aroma in the spring when it’s blooming!

  2. Jan said,

    June 8, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    Hi, Mary Beth. When I was a child, the milky sap from the tallow tree gave me problems, so I use gloves whenever I handle anything with a milky sap. I do love the jasmine when it is blooming, but it has just become too much to handle now. It is moving into the entry and back gardens and on the side where it started growing as one small plant it has covered a 6 X 25 foot area and moving into the lawn daily. I hate to have to pull it out, but I don’t ever want to deal with this again.

  3. Phillip said,

    June 9, 2008 at 8:37 am

    I laughed when I started reading your post because I tried for years to grow confederate jasmine. It always died on me during the winter. I have the variety called “Madison” now and it has survived two winters now but it has never grown that much. I keep waiting for it to take off but maybe not after reading about yours. LOL

  4. Jan said,

    June 9, 2008 at 9:25 am

    Phillip, I just went out and put some black plastic on a small area to see if that would help kill the confederate jasmine. When we first moved into our home the vine was only about three feet high and two feet wide. It did get knocked back by freezes but would come back from the roots. Maybe if yours can get a good size, the freezes will not kill the roots so it can return in the spring. Just watch it. With global warming, you may not always have cold weather to keep it in check.

  5. Simone said,

    November 20, 2010 at 11:34 pm

    We bought a house a few months ago and the yard is terribly overgrown. I have just started getting in to do a massive prune and clean up.
    But i have found so much jasmine vine. I think it has been growing wild for a few years now. And it is now so deep rooted. It is all over our yard, everywhere!!!
    Any advice on how to best get rid of it all? Or will i have to keep digging it up?

    • Jan said,

      November 21, 2010 at 7:54 am

      I have cut it back, but it will come back from the roots, so digging it out is the only solution. I really do not believe in using herbicides in the garden, but I had to make an exception in this case since it is so entrenched and I am only one person. The super Roundup (for poison ivy & tough weeds – in a gold container) did kill it back, but the regular Roundup didn’t. I am still fighting this vine. but am determined to get rid of it, even if it takes a few years. Good luck with getting rid of yours.


Leave a Reply

