A Great Pairing

“A Great Pairing”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Every now and then, plans you make work out better than expected.  When I planted these crinum next to the pink hydrangeas, I had never seen them in bloom.  I just thought that the crinums would look good side by side with the hydrangeas.  I was hoping both plants would have flower colors that would be compatible.  It turned out I was right.

 

 

My sister had given me the crinums, but I had only seen pictures in garden books of the blooms.  She told me they would be pink, and I thought the contrast of flower shapes would be interesting.  The contrast in the foliage also adds interest, though this photo is a little deceiving.  The crinum’s leaves are long and slender, similar to amaryllis.  Since this is a picture of the flowers more than the leaves, you can’t see the crimum’s foliage.  The broad leaves in the photo are those of the hidden ginger.

 

Garden experts are always telling us to have texture in the garden.  I think this was a lucky pairing for me.  I got the texture and great blooms, too.

4 Comments

  1. Brenda Kula said,

    June 8, 2008 at 10:55 am

    I’ve never had criniums before. But yours look very nice in that bed. I’ll have to look into these!
    Brenda

  2. Jan said,

    June 8, 2008 at 3:29 pm

    Yes, Brenda, these are easy care plants – they do get big, but sometimes it is nice to have a plant fill up an area. I just love mine esp. since they bloom when other plants are starting to fade out.

  3. Amy said,

    June 11, 2008 at 11:47 am

    Your Crinum are beautiful. Mine are a dark pink. Perhaps one day we could make a trade, the light pink would compliment the dark pink so well and vice versa. 🙂

    A fellow Louisiana gardener,
    Amy

  4. Jan said,

    June 11, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    Hi Amy. Sounds good to me. Maybe the fall would be a good time to dig one up?


Leave a Reply

