More Purchases

“More Purchases”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Yesterday, I wrote about how I broke my resolution not to buy any more plants until cooler weather set in.  I posted about the clerodendrum I bought, but that was not the only purchase.  I also had to have a red monarda.  The tag stated it was Monarda didyma ‘Jacob Cline’.  It is a beautiful shade of red and will fit in with the other red flowering plants in the entry garden.

It looks like there is more than one plant in the container, so when I plant it, I will try to separate the plants since it looks very overgrown.

I also purchased some coleus and pentas to fill in a few places that seem to need some color now that so many of the spring flowering plants have finished blooming.

I did receive a free plant from a friend.  I will need to pot it up soon.  She had just divided hers up and said that some of the leaves were damaged from too much sun.  I plan on placing this on the front porch so it will only get some morning sun and bright light the rest of the day.  Since it is tender, having it there will help me not forget it when the cold weather comes.

I

It was too hot and sunny by the time I could start gardening today, so I decided I would wait until it gets cooler in the early evening to start planting some of my purchases from yesterday.  I think this will also be better for the plants than having them being planted in the middle of a hot summer day.  I know I’ll be watering the newly planted ones everyday next week if we don’t get any rain.  Well, at least that will keep me busy and out of garden centers.

4 Comments

  1. Brenda Kula said,

    June 22, 2008 at 6:47 pm

    I keep telling myself to buy Monarda, but I have yet to do so! Bees love it!
    Brenda

  2. Jan said,

    June 22, 2008 at 8:22 pm

    Brenda, last year was only the second time I planted Monarda and the first time that mine returned after the winter. Since that one was successful, I thought I would try the red one. I hope it does as well.

  3. June 23, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    I’m still buying plants, too, but I can’t help it. It’s been cool so far, so it seems like there is still time. I bought a dwarf Monarda last summer and was shocked at how root bound it was in the pot. I had to cut off the pot to get it out, then I literally sawed it into three plants. Two made it through the winter and are just now blooming, a beautiful dark pink-magenta color. Well worth the effort!

  4. Jan said,

    June 23, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    Carol, I will be planting my red monarda tomorrow, and I think mine is going to be root bound also. The entire gallon pot is just filled to bursting. I am hoping to get at least two plants out of it. I’m glad to know yours made it, so now I won’t hesitate to cut the plant into at least two pieces.


Leave a comment