Surviving the Heat

“Surviving the Heat”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

The weather here has been hot and dry.  This morning I went out to plant some of my new purchases about 6:45 AM to try and beat the heat.  We received about a quarter inch of rain Saturday, so I didn’t water anything on Sunday.  Since I had been watering regularly, I thought that rain would reinforce my supplemental watering, so that I wouldn’t have to water for a few days.

Today, when I went to plant the pentas in the front side garden, the ground was bone dry.  I couldn’t believe how dry everything was in that area.  Needless to say, after putting in the new plants, I really watered that area.  Tomorrow it will be back to the soaker hoses so that the ground can be moist for more than just the top inch.  Everything still looks okay, but by tomorrow I’m sure there would be wilting if the plants don’t get watered.  Ah, the joys of summer in the deep South.

Plants in the garden are still looking good.  The Stella d’Ora, Plum Tree and the old-fashioned yellow daylilies are still blooming.  Of course, the annuals are doing well, but I did not plant as many this year as I have in the past.  The gladiolus plants are just starting to put on their show.  These bicolor ones are doing the best.  They are really able to take the heat.  These glads are the ones I have had the longest, so the bulbs are very big.  They were labeled as yellow; Goldfield, I think when I purchased them.  However they were mislabeled and were instead peach with yellow centers.  At first, I did not like them at all, but they have grown on me.  Now, they are my favorite.  I usually cut one and bring it in the house in a bud vase.  Hubby really loves this flower.

Here it is with the sun back lighting it.  If you look closely you can see a little bug trying to find some shade.  These glads have made babies, and I am thinking that I might plant them next to my peach and yellow hibiscuses or next to some of the orange flowered canna in the back garden.

Now, if I can only find the time to carry out these ideas I keep coming up with.

3 Comments

  1. Nancy Bond said,

    June 23, 2008 at 9:22 pm

    That glad is absolutely beautiful! It was very warm and humid as all get out here in NS today — the first really uncomfortably hot day we’ve had so far. We need rain.

  2. Randy said,

    June 24, 2008 at 4:54 pm

    Jan,
    I had to go back a little ways to catch up on my reading. You made me giggle when you were talking about your inablity to keep you resolution. It’s okay, I have no control either. LOL Jamie and I have already spent a HUGE chunk of our vacation money on plants. Every weekend we say the same thing. We aren’t going to buy anymore plants, but when Encore azaleas are $4.00 a 3 gallon pot, how are we suppose to resist? There is always something there to temp us. To make matters worse a friend of ours called from Dothan to tell us she found 3 to 4 foot ‘Crimson Queen’ Japanese Maples for $25.00 a piece. Girl, it’s just a no win situation you might as well do like me and admit defeat. 🙂

  3. Jan said,

    June 24, 2008 at 5:39 pm

    Well, Nancy, it seems that so many areas need rain at this time. We didn’t get any again today, but there is hope for tomorrow. There is no real relief from high temps around here until late September, so we are really only getting started with the hot weather.

    Randy, it is nice to know I’m not alone in the plant buying madness. I know exactly what you mean about finding bargains and not being able to resist. I always tell myself that you regret the things you don’t buy not the things you do buy.


Leave a Reply

