Rain Relief

“Rain Relief”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Well, this afternoon, we finally received a good rain shower – .88 inches.  This morning I had finished the watering I had started yesterday.  Now with this rain, it should be several days before I have to start watering the garden again, that is, if we don’t have the rain that is predicted for the weekend.  It seems that we either have no rain or too much.  Gardening under pine trees is the real reason I have to water the flower beds so much.  The pines just soak up the water.  It is not a problem for the shrubs, usually, but the smaller perennials and annuals need to be watered frequently.  That is when the mulch and the soaker hoses I have in the beds really helps out.

This morning I was able to work in the garden.  I planted the monarda and two more coleuses I bought Saturday.  In addition, I potted up the Confederate Rose trees and Crybaby trees I had started earlier and gave them to a neighbor who had admired mine.  She told me that she had been trying to find them but never could.  I explained that they are really pass along plants and that they are rarely sold at nurseries.  It is a shame that the garden centers don’t carry more plants like those.

You can see from this photo that summer lushness has arrived.  Here are the toad lilies I transplanted in the spring in front of elephant ears.  With this latest rain, I’m sure they will get even bigger.

4 Comments

  1. Nancy Bond said,

    June 25, 2008 at 6:07 pm

    This is almost the most perfect part of the growing season — everything leafed out and plants filling in and blooming, before the really wretched heat sets in. I love June!

  2. Jan said,

    June 26, 2008 at 7:19 am

    Hi, Nancy. Lately there have been some days when it seems the wretched heat is already here. This morning is cool after yesterday’s rain, but I have a feeling when the sun starts heating things up the humidty will be awful. The ferns love it though so I guess that is one consolation. But, you are right, the garden is so lush and colorful right now.

  3. Brenda Kula said,

    June 26, 2008 at 12:51 pm

    Okay, now I know why, in the three and a half years I’ve lived in East Texas, that I have to water all the time. I can blame the pines! Thank you!
    Brenda

  4. Jan said,

    June 26, 2008 at 1:59 pm

    Oh yes, Brenda, the trees can really suck up the water. A few areas where there are no trees are the ones I don’t have to water as much.


Leave a Reply

