A Heavenly Scent

“A Heavenly Scent”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

I noticed today that the sweet almond shrub (aloysia virgata) I planted in March is blooming again.  I was surprised to see the flowers because I thought it only bloomed in the early spring.  After doing some research on the Internet, I found out that it blooms off and on until frost.

The flowers are just starting and are still small, but the fragrance is unmistakable.  I wish you could experience the sweet, delicate perfume of this shrub.  This is another one of those great plants that no one seems to know about because the nurseries don’t carry it.  I have only seen it one time, and then,there was only one plant, and I bought it.  Mine has already grown a great deal since being planted, and I can’t wait for it to get bigger so there will be more flowers and sweet scent from this shrub.

6 Comments

  1. deb said,

    June 27, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    Another good one you don’t see too often is sweet olive. The blooms are tiny but smell like heaven.

  2. Jan said,

    June 28, 2008 at 5:47 am

    Yes, Deb, you are so right. The sweet olive is one of those plants that do not call attention to themselves until they bloom. It is a shame that you don’t see these plants more often since they really add to the garden.

  3. Nancy Bond said,

    June 28, 2008 at 12:50 pm

    There is a shrub outside our bedroom window (choking out a rhododendron, I might add) that is just coming into bloom. I’m not sure what it is, but it has white blooms, too, and has a very heavy, sweet fragrance. This sweet almond of yours is beautiful!

  4. Jan said,

    June 28, 2008 at 12:58 pm

    Thanks, Nancy. I wonder if yours is the same plant? I really love mine.

  5. Brenda Kula said,

    June 28, 2008 at 4:03 pm

    I am just wondering…just how many plants do you have! They just keep on coming! And I love your blog!
    Brenda

  6. Jan said,

    June 28, 2008 at 5:21 pm

    Oh, thank you, Brenda. I guess I do have a lot of plants. I am fortunate to garden on a large lot, and, over the years, I have put in large beds along the property lines. Slowly, I have started filling them up with purchased plants and pass alongs from other generous gardeners. Of course, I’m still buying – can’t seem to resist a new plant. I still have a few that I haven’t featured yet.


Leave a Reply

