Strange Things

“Strange Things”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Strange things seem to be happening around here lately.  First, there were all the creatures showing up, many of which we had not seen in years.  Turtles, cuddling centipedes, and hummingbird nectar swilling opossoms.  Now a gray tree frog has shown up – never have seen this one before.

 

 

Two snakes have also roamed around the yard in the last three days, a black racer and a corn snake.  (No photos of those guys.  Hubby was the only one who got close enough to identify).  I don’t know why, all of a sudden, all these creatures are coming around.  Are we making our property a little too hospitable?

And then, there are the plants.  While visiting a neighbor, they showed me a gerber daisy that was very different – a Siamese twin gerber daisy.  The stems were fused together with just the flower heads free.

 

Then, they showed me what I take to be a seed pod on one of their plants.  Neither I nor they have ever seen anything like this.  This plant has yellow trumpet shaped flowers, and the name escapes me right now.  My neighbors said they have had the plant for several years and nothing like this has shown up before.

So, what’s going on with all these unusual sightings all at once?  When it comes to the animals, I like to think I’ve just made a great diversified ecosystem for them to enjoy.  As for the plants in my neighbor’s garden?  Maybe it is the heat.

 

12 Comments

  1. Nancy Bond said,

    June 28, 2008 at 10:51 pm

    Freaky!

  2. Donna said,

    June 29, 2008 at 12:51 am

    Hi, Jan,
    Thanks for the fave.

    We live on the edge of woods and are also amazed at the wildlife that appears. I was pulling some ivy off the fence post and found a little snake hiding at the top of the post. Yikes!

    Donna/Mother Nature

  3. lafalcon said,

    June 29, 2008 at 5:44 am

    Jan, I’ve seen the gray tree frog in my yard as well. I’m in the same parish as you are. I have a picture of one on my fig tree and last week I saw another on a Dracaena that I have in a pot outside. I love frogs and I was so excited to see the little guy. He was so light gray he looked white.
    Enjoy the rain *

  4. Jan said,

    June 29, 2008 at 7:47 am

    Yes, Nancy, it is a little freaky that they all seem to be showing up now.

    Hi, Donna, I hope I never see a snake anywhere but on the ground. Having one up in a tree or on a post would really scare me.

    We have had the green tree frogs for years, lafalcon, but this is the first time a gray tree frog has shown up. We had to look it up on the Internet to see what it was. I know it is a good sign when you see frogs in your garden.

  5. Brenda Kula said,

    June 29, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    Oh, that daisy! How very strange! I don’t know what it is with critters in our neck of the woods. I love that frog! I wonder where all the frogs are around here? I hear them, but never see them. I’m gettin’ the “critter jitters!”
    Brenda

  6. Jan said,

    June 29, 2008 at 7:04 pm

    Yes, Brenda, isn’t that gerber daisy weird but wonderful. Maybe you don’t see the frogs because they are out at night when it is hard to see them. If that frog wouldn’t have been on the shephard’s hook outside the kitchen window, I don’t think we would have seen him either.

  7. Mary Beth said,

    June 30, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    I have had gerbers bloom like this before and read somewhere that it is not a rare occurance. Love all the wildlife you’ve attracted to your garden!

  8. Jan said,

    July 1, 2008 at 8:08 am

    Hi, Mary Beth, I had never seen gergers grow like this before that’s why I thought it so strange.

  9. July 6, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    Jan, I think your neighbor’s plant is some kind of Allamanda – they have a seedpod like that… maybe it needs some specific pollinator that only appears when it’s hot?
    If it’s both hot _and_ dry – guess the critters are looking for water!

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  10. Jan said,

    July 6, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    Thanks, Annie. My neighbor was just asking me about this just yesterday as more were showing up on her plant. You could be right about the water because I have been watering the garden like crazy.

  11. Barry said,

    January 6, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    The spiky seed pod, if it is the same as on the plant that I have, is a yearly occurance once the trumpet shaped flowers of the Datura have died for the season…. just be careful as all parts of this plant are poisonous!

  12. Jan said,

    January 6, 2009 at 8:24 pm

    Barry, this isn’t a datura, but an allamanda. I have daturas but have never had a seed pod. Since I now know what a datura seedpod looks like, I’ll have be on the lookout for one.


Leave a Reply

