July 4th

“July 4th”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

Today, the family is meeting at my daughter’s for the traditional 4th of July barbecue, so no working in the garden today. 

This Tradition

By Gary Hess

It’s an American tradition,

this Fourth of July,

to barbeque and drink–

festive with family.

When dusk comes,

blasts light up above;

sparkles and smoke

with awes beneath.

 

 Hope everyone has a great day celebrating

America’s birthday.

This land is your land, this land is my land
From California to the New York Island
From the redwood forest to the Gulf Stream waters
This land was made for you and me

As I was walking that ribbon of highway
I saw above me that endless skyway
I saw below me that golden valley
This land was made for you and me

This land is your land, this land is my land
From California to the New York Island
From the redwood forest to the Gulf Stream waters
This land was made for you and me

I’ve roamed and rambled and I followed my footsteps
To the sparkling sands of her diamond deserts
And all around me a voice was sounding
This land was made for you and me

This land is your land, this land is my land
From California to the New York Island
From the redwood forest to the Gulf Stream waters
This land was made for you and me

When the sun came shining and I was strolling
And the wheat fields waving and the dust clouds rolling
As the fog was lifting a voice was chanting
This land was made for you and me

This land is your land, this land is my land
From California to the New York Island
From the redwood forest to the Gulf Stream waters
This land was made for you and me
 Woody Gutherie

 

 

 

4 Comments

  1. Brenda Kula said,

    July 4, 2008 at 10:42 am

    Yeah, we’re sitting here trying to figure out where to go eat. My husband just got home (close to noon now) from an overnighter at the hospital. Have a good one yourself!
    Brenda

  2. Nancy Bond said,

    July 4, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    Have a wonderful day with your family. 🙂

  3. Jon Pen said,

    July 4, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    Jan, Like you, I did a patriotic post on my blog for the 4th now that I am back online. I have always loved the song by Woody Gutherie and It brings back many memories to me of my college days in the ’60’s. It is always a treat to visit your blog and today I have updated my blogroll to add yours to my favorites list. Hope y’all have a great 4th!

    Best regards, Jon at Mississippi Garden

  4. Jan said,

    July 4, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    Thanks, Brenda. I hope you and your hubby had a nice lunch.

    Nancy, I just returned home from my daughter’s, and we did have a great time. I was good to get together with my mom, sisters, and their families.

    Jon, I know what you mean about that song and the memories it conjures up for babyboomers. Thanks for your kind words about my blog and adding me to your favorites. I am glad you back.


Leave a Reply

