A New Nursery

“A New Nursery”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Yesterday, my daughter pointed out a small nursery that has just opened near her home.  Well. you all know what that means.  Yes, today we just had to support this new nursery.  The young man who runs it was very friendly and accommodating.  He said they have only been open ten days and can barely keep things in stock.  I told him it is because there are hardly any nurseries left around here.  So many have closed in the last few years.  This used to be an area with a lot of growers who sold wholesale and retail.  There still are some, but the pressure to sell the land to developers and a few bad freezes several years back really hurt the nursery industry around here.

 

But back to today.  My daughter bought several plants, but I haven’t the room or the need for too many new plants.  I did buy two coleus plants that I couldn’t resist.  The first one is a lovely rose colored one that will look lovely in the “pink” garden.

 

 

The other one is Tilt-A-Whirl coleus.  I have read about this one and have seen pictures, but this is the first time it has been available for me to purchase.  The leaves almost look like butterflies the way they are shaped.

 

 

Depending on how much sun this coleus gets, the colors can range from dark chocolate to a peachy chocolate.  But, the way that the leaves seem to swirl around the stem of the plant is the reason for the name.

 

 

Since this nursery is on the way to my yoga class, it looks like I might be stopping by often to do my part to help the economy a bit with my purchases.  It is my duty as a citizen to help the economy, right?

5 Comments

  1. Sheila said,

    July 5, 2008 at 6:20 pm

    Lovely!

  2. Jan said,

    July 5, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    Thanks, Shelia, for stopping by.

  3. July 6, 2008 at 6:11 am

    Oh, thank you, you reminded me that I have coleus to plant. Glad you have a new nursery.~~Dee

  4. Jan said,

    July 6, 2008 at 6:27 am

    Hi, Dee. One of the things I like about reading blogs telling what others are doing in their gardens is that it reminds me to do the same garden chores in mine.

  5. Brenda Kula said,

    July 6, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    I have never seen that coleus, but it is very interesting. Once hot weather sets in, I’m just not out in the nurseries much. Too hot and humid. I do my fair share of buying in the spring though, to make up for it!
    Brenda


Leave a Reply

