Daylily Gifts

“Daylily Gifts”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

My sister came through again.  When she came over to my daughter’s for the fourth of July, she came bearing gifts.  She brought me three daylilies.  These were plants that are the offsprings of ones my mother gave her years ago. 

 

 

This one pictured above had a flower scape still on it, and it opened today.  I knew what it looked like since I had seen it in her garden, but it is nice to have a flower so that you can see how it looks in your garden.

 

Another clump was a light yellow that both my mother and sister told me was beautiful.  My mother had received it from a neighbor who lives across the street.  Mom gave it years ago to my sister because it was in the way of a fence they were putting in, and she no longer had a place for it.  I guess I’ll have to wait until it blooms next year to see how pretty it really is.

 

The last clump was the tawny daylilies from my mother’s next door neighbor.  This is the common orange daylily.  Since there is more orange in my back garden now, I thought this would be a nice addition. 

 

It is not only the receiving the plants that I like.  It is having plants that first were in my mother’s garden and then my sister’s.  There is just something about having reminders of the ones we love and their love for us that makes a garden extra special.

4 Comments

  1. chey said,

    July 6, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    A gift of plants is so special, especially when there is a history of sharing behind it.

  2. Nancy Bond said,

    July 6, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    How wonderful to be able to pass along these beauties within your family. I adore daylilies, all the more so after seeing the many outstanding colors in everyones’ beds.

  3. Brenda Kula said,

    July 7, 2008 at 5:17 pm

    You betcha! Those are the best kind. Like when my neighbor across the alley “leaves” a potted plant in my backyard for me to find when next I go outside!
    Brenda

  4. Jan said,

    July 7, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    Hi, Chey. Having plants that have a “history” is one of the pleasures of my garden.

    Yes, Nancy. I think am becoming more and more a daylily “freak”. After seeing other gardeners’ photos, I have decided to add more to my garden.

    Brenda, you have a great neighbor. Gardeners are among the most generous people, and you seem to have one of the best.


Leave a Reply

