Seedheads

“Seedheads”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

We usually think of plants making seedheads in autumn when the growing season is winding down, and plants are preparing to ensure that their species survives.  Well, here it is the first full week of July, and already seedheads are appearing.

 

The clemitis crispa has made several seedheads.  It would be nice if they dry on the vine and can be collected to plant for next year.  It is a very interesting form with all the twisty little projections.  I was very surprised by the seedhead considering that the flower is a single bell shape.

 

 

The first of the agapanthus to bloom has already set seeds.  I cut the seed heads off, dry, and save for flower arrangements.  Since I will not be using the seeds and I want the plant’s energy to go into renewing the agapanthus, I do not allow the seeds to ripen.  However, I do leave them on the plant for a while because I like the architectural element they add to the garden.

 

 

There will be more seeds forming in the coming months.  These are just the first and a reminder of the cycle of nature.

5 Comments

  1. AnnA said,

    July 10, 2008 at 8:34 pm

    OH, I wish I had more Agapanthus. I left mine at my old house. I use to leave my seed heads on cause it made an interesting winter garden. It’s good to see you again.

  2. Eve said,

    July 10, 2008 at 9:11 pm

    I love the interesting look of this plant. I particularly like plants you can dry and use in arrangements.

  3. Jan said,

    July 11, 2008 at 7:32 am

    Hi, Anna. It seems I am chasing you all over the internet to find your latest blog. Agapanthus is a wonderful plant to have in the garden. I am lucky that my sister gave me several large ones. I am sure it won’t be long before you are putting some in your new garden.

    Eve, it is nice to have plants that have more than one use or season of interest. In the agapanthus’s case, there is the foliage, flowers, and then seedheads. We need more plants like that.

  4. Phillip said,

    July 11, 2008 at 7:33 am

    Okay, now I’m kicking myself for digging up those agapanthus!

  5. Jan said,

    July 11, 2008 at 7:37 am

    Oh, no. You didn’t get rid of agapanthus! I hope you just moved them. I know sometimes they take a long time to to get big enough to start blooming, but they are worth the wait. I divided my Elaine agapanthus last fall, and I don’t think I am going to get blooms this year. Hoping for blooms next summer though.


Leave a Reply

