Lazy Summer Sunday

“Lazy Summer Sunday”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Today was one of those rare days.  A lazy summer day.  Too hot to do anything, and the time in which to do nothing.  I stayed inside, read the newspaper, watched movies on TV, and did a little cooking.  It was a very relaxing day.

 

This morning I did venture out to see what was going on in the garden and take a few photos of anything interesting.  One thing that did intrigue me was a gardenia seedpod.  I have had gardenia bushes here for about thirty years and have never seen a seed pod before.  This is not a particularly old shrub – maybe four years.  It is one my mother rooted from some flowers I had given her from some of my older bushes.  I didn’t know that gardenias made seed pods, but I guess they do.  I am not too surprised by this because last year an old camellia produced one also.  When I researched this, I found out that occasionally camillias do make seedpods, so, maybe, it is the same with gardenias.

 

 

Another plant I thought I’d show is a new sweet potato vine I got a few weeks ago.  It is Sweet Caroline, a variegated one that looks good with my favorite coleus.

 

 

Here is a closeup of Sweet Caroline that shows her colors a little better.

 

 

I will definitely try and overwinter this new sweet potato vine.

 

Well, after such a relaxing day, I’m sure I will be ready for a more active day tomorrow.

 

 

4 Comments

  1. Jon Pen said,

    July 13, 2008 at 10:11 pm

    Very interesting post about the gardenia seedpod. That’s news to me too, but then plants have a way of surprising us, don’t they? Makes gardening even more fun I think. Here in Vicksburg is is way too hot to do much of anything outside also and even my camera was acting crazy today so I was not able to get in a few shots. Perhaps the heat and humidity are affecting it. Always a treat visiting your lovely blog. Jon at Mississippi Garden on 7-13-08

  2. Jan said,

    July 14, 2008 at 7:09 am

    Thanks, Jon, for the kind words about my blog. We are getting ready for another hot day here. I have a few things I want to do in the garden and am considering dragging a fan outside to help with the heat. I know I’ll probably get some stares, but so what.

  3. July 14, 2008 at 5:00 pm

    I like the varigated sweet potato vine.

  4. Jan said,

    July 14, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    Yes, I was excited when I saw it. If I can make cuttings, I was thinking about a hanging basket with Sweet Caroline, Marguerite, and Ace of Spads. I think that would be a great combo.


Leave a Reply

