Generous Bloggers

“Generous Bloggers”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

When I started blogging, I figured this would be a good way to keep a record of my garden and connect with other gardeners.  I didn’t realize that I would make friends, too.

 

One of the blogs that I enjoy is Creating Our Eden.  Randy and Jamie have done a great job repairing their garden after a tornado struck their neighborhood earlier this year.  Randy and I have traded comments on our blog for months now.  Last week Randy offered me a Summer Gold agapanthus, and it arrived today.  I was so excited.  I have not seen this variety before.  As I have stated before, I love having plants in my garden that remind me of friends and family.  Now, I will think of Randy every time I look at Summer Gold.  Thanks again, Randy.

 

 

Another generous gardener that I will think of fondly is MSS at Zanthan Gardens.  When I wrote about my pink crinum lilies, I said I would love to find some Milk and Wine ones.  Soon there was a comment on that post from MSS offering me seeds from hers when it made seeds.  I couldn’t believe that she took the time to collect and send the seeds to someone she never met.  They arrived at the end of May, and here is a photo of the little seedlings.  They will soon be transplanted into their own individual pots.  I know it will be a few years before they bloom, but that doesn’t stop my excitement about them.  Thanks again, MSS.

 

 

So, even though I have never met either of these gardeners in person, I feel blessed to have found such generous and thoughtful people in the garden blogging world. 

9 Comments

  1. July 16, 2008 at 8:53 pm

    What a nice post to honor the generosity of fellow bloggers. Gardeners by nature are generous and giving. Thank you for sharing your gifts with us.

  2. Nancy Bond said,

    July 16, 2008 at 9:26 pm

    Another one of the many perks of this Blotanical community. 🙂 Kudos to you!

  3. AnnA said,

    July 17, 2008 at 12:30 am

    It is pretty awesome when they do something like that. Looks like you got a high germination rate. Now when you get seeds—I want some.

  4. Randy said,

    July 17, 2008 at 5:45 am

    What kind words Jan, thank you. I’m so glad it made it there safely and I hope you enjoy it in good health.
    -Randy

  5. Jan said,

    July 17, 2008 at 6:07 am

    Thanks for stopping by, Perennialgardenlover. I, too, have found gardeners to be generous with their knowledge and plants. It is amazing what an instant bonding happens when gardeners find each other.

    Hi, Nancy. I think the biggest perk is connecting with great gardening bloggers. The friendship is the important thing.

    AnnA, I did get good germination, but then, MSS sent me a lot of seeds, more than I expected. When these little babies grow and make seeds, I’ll send you some. I believe in paying it forward.

    Randy, you did a great job packing the agapanthus. Even with the heat, it arrived looking fresh. I’ll be planting it in the garden this evening when it gets a little cooler. I’d be interested in seeing a photo of where you planted yours. Thanks.

  6. Alexandra said,

    July 17, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    That was very sweet of you to share about other bloggers and honor them the way you did.

  7. Jan said,

    July 17, 2008 at 7:01 pm

    Thanks, Alexandra. I was really touched that they would go out of their way to send me those gifts. There are some really nice people out there.

  8. Brenda Kula said,

    July 18, 2008 at 4:02 pm

    You and me both, Jan! I love my blogger friends. I hope to meet many some day. But for now, I like to get my cup of coffee in the morning and go check up on my buddies. Bloggers are a very generous bunch, I’ve found. Very caring and supportive. By the way, I linked to your blog today. Couldn’t find your email address… It was about the plant that blew up!
    Brenda

  9. Jan said,

    July 18, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    You sound like me, Brenda. The first thing in the morning, I turn on my computer and then fix coffee. I come back to the computer and check the blogs to see what’s going on in the gardening world. This is so much more relaxing then watching the morning news shows.


Leave a Reply

