Finally a Flower

“Finally a Flower”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Last year I ordered the daylily, Catherine Woodbury, from a company in California.  They were having a sale, and, even though it was early June with hot temperatures already here, I ordered three plants.  I won’t go into all the details (this would turn into a saga), but, thanks to the post office, it was four weeks and two shipments by this nice company before I finally received my daylilies.  By this time, it was very hot, and the plants were very stressed when they finally did arrive at my house.  This was NOT the fault of the company. 

 

Fast forward to this spring.  Only one of the daylilies made it through the winter and was very slow to start showing new growth.  When it became apparent that this one would survive, every time I watered it, I would tell it to give me just one bloom so I could see what it looked like.  Over and over, I begged for just one little flower.  About three weeks ago, I saw the beginnings of buds.  I couldn’t believe it.  Just about every other daylily has already finished blooming around here.

 

Finally, it opened and was very pretty.

 

 

I am not sure if this is Catherine Woodbury.  It should be a pale lavender, and this has a very pale blush (maybe a light, light lavender?) look.  I have often had the first flowers of a plant not be true to color, and subsequent ones are.  It may be that the heat has affected the color, or it could just be mislabeled.  The last reason would not surprise me in the least since this has happened to me so much lately.  However, this really doesn’t matter because this pretty daylily is fine even if it stays this color in future blooms.  One feature that is so striking is the chartreuse throat.  It just glows that “glow in the dark” yellow-green.  Very unusual.

 

Now, if only Vanilla Fluff listens to my pleas for blooms…

5 Comments

  1. July 18, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    I love the coloring of this daylilly. That chartreuse throst is stunning.

  2. Jan said,

    July 18, 2008 at 8:48 pm

    Yes, isn’t it. When I downloaded the photo, I was sure that the picture showed the throat too intense. But, when I went back to the flower, it really was that color.

  3. July 19, 2008 at 6:49 am

    I love the green, there are so few green flowers that I end up purchasing them whenever I run across them.

  4. Brenda Kula said,

    July 19, 2008 at 10:40 am

    I love that chartreuse throat! It is the most beautiful thing about it, Jan! I get so excited when I go out and see a bud forming. This morning I saw that a pond plant had sent up a tall bloom that was just faintly showing a lavender shade. And I get goosebumps!
    Brenda

  5. Jan said,

    July 19, 2008 at 7:53 pm

    Well, Linda, I am hoping that future flowers will be more lavender, but I want it to have that chartureuse throat.

    Yes, Brenda, this daylily does have a strikingly colored throat. It really does almost glow. I can see we share the same anticipation whenever a new plant puts out a bloom. I’ll go our several times a day to check on it.


Leave a Reply

