Thinking Ahead to Fall Color

“Thinking Ahead to Fall Color”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

We all love color in the garden, and one plant that fills that requirement is the croton.  A popular foliage plant, most people use these to give a tropical feel to their summer gardens.  I particularly like them as a fall container plant on the front porch.  By October, when the rest of the garden is starting to go to sleep, these brightly colored plants with yellow, red, and orange leaves brightens and makes the area festive.  Down here in the deep South, we really do not have fall color.  Very few leaves on our trees change as they do farther north.  We may have a few trees that turn a pale yellow, but we miss out on the mass of scarlets, golden yellows and other fall colors that is normally associated with autumn.  For us, the croton is a colorful substitute for what we only see in pictures.

 

 

This plant with its colorful, glossy leaves is a tropical.  We grow it outdoors in the summer, but it must be brought indoors when the temperatures approach freezing.  I have lost crotons when the temperature falls into the high 30’s, so now I bring them in whenever it is forcasted to be below 40 degrees.  It makes a great houseplant next to a bright window in the winter or anytime.

 

While this is a great tropical plant for the summer garden, I always showcase mine during the fall.  When all those lucky people up north are enjoying the gorgeous color of the changing leaves, I, at least, will have the croton with its vibrant orange, burgundy, chartreuse, yellow, and green foliage. 

6 Comments

  1. July 25, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    The fall colors of the Croton is gorgeous. It does remind me of that time of the year when the leaves are falling and the mums are blooming. Great color!

  2. Jan said,

    July 26, 2008 at 4:10 am

    It is great color, isn’t it. Fall is my favorite time of the year. That is when I start with the seasonal decorating, and I hate to take everything down in December. I guess that is why I like to have the crotons around. Great color with no fading flowers.

  3. Brenda Kula said,

    July 26, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Oh, this would be perfect since we too do not get the experience of fall! But aren’t the leaves poisonous to dogs and cats? If I put it outside, I will have to put it up high. And the cat would eat it indoors. But I would love to have that color in my garden come fall!
    Brenda

  4. Jan said,

    July 26, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    Brenda, I think it might be poisonous, but I am not sure. I keep mine on the front porch, where no pets are allowed, so it is not a problem for me. If I do bring it inside, it stays in the garage, again, where no pets ever are.

  5. Nancy Bond said,

    July 26, 2008 at 8:13 pm

    A beautiful plant with perfect fall-colored foliage.

  6. Jan said,

    July 27, 2008 at 12:51 am

    Nancy, crotons are my favorite plants for fall decorarting. I like them even better than mums for fall color.


Leave a Reply

