Garden Blues

“Garden Blues”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Finally, some rain.  We had a little rain band from Hurricane Dolly cross over us on Wednesday that dropped 1.25 inches.  Thursday brought a small shower that reinforced that rain, and today we received .35.  It is unreal how so many plants have had a growth spurt with the app. two inches of rain.  We desperately needed that rain and are so thankful the dry spell seems to have ended.

 

As I walked around the garden this morning to see how things were doing, I noticed the blue flowers on the blue daze, bog sage, and plumbago.  It is a shame that there are so few true blue flowers to grow.  When I first started gardening, I was disappointed many times when a flower that was described as being blue turned out to be a shade of purple.  Why do they do this?  Just say it is purple.

 

The true blue flowers really stand out and can set off so many other colors.  My favorite blue is the blue daze.  This plant is covered with bright blue flowers from early spring to early winter.  It is only after a freeze that the blooms stop.  Mine overwintered this year and started the spring growing bigger than ever.  This easy-to-grow plant has small trumpet shaped flowers that open in the morning and close by late afternoon, but it is the color that really catches the eye.

 

 

Another lovely blue flower is bog sage.  This can grow quite tall and is supposed to be hardy to zone 6.  I have had this sage about seven years now and look forward to its light blue color every spring.  I do not think I have seen it in nurseries.  I received mine from my daughter’s neighbor.  Even though it is commonly called bog sage, it does need well drained soil.  Deadheading will prolong the blooming of lovely, sky-blue flowers.

 

 

Many people have plumbago in their gardens.  This plant deserves a large area to spread out.  So often, I have seen people trimming it back to fit a small space and then wondering why there are hardly any blooms.  It blooms on new wood, so any pruning should be done in early spring. There are many shades of blue for this plant, so it is recommended to buy it in bloom so you can get the exact color you want.

 

 

Blue is a calming color and can help tone down some of the more vibrant colored flowers.  Even on its own, true blue is striking in a garden.  Maybe it is because of its rarity.

11 Comments

  1. July 26, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    Great shades of blue in your garden. I especially like the Blue Daze.

  2. Nancy Bond said,

    July 26, 2008 at 7:12 pm

    You’re right — there are few truly BLUE flowers that aren’t some shade of lavender or purple in reality. I love blue in the garden, especially in combination with yellow or orange. 🙂 That’s why chicory is one of my favorite wildflowers.

  3. deb said,

    July 26, 2008 at 7:50 pm

    Dolly totally left us without a drop. Glad you got some rain.

  4. Jan said,

    July 27, 2008 at 12:59 am

    Yes, Perennialgardenlover, Blue Daze is my favorite. I have it growing next to Mexican heather, and the colors are a great combination.

    Nancy, I have seen photos of chicory but have never grown it. I may look into it because my garden can always use more blue.

    Oh, Deb, I can’t believe you didn’t get any rain from Dolly. We were surprised when we did because they were not predicting any rain for us from her. Only one shower from Dolly for us. The rest of the rain we have been having is from a little frontal system. We have had enough for a while, so I’ll try and send the extra your way. LOL

  5. Jon Pen said,

    July 27, 2008 at 4:56 am

    Color me blue too….to match my eyes I guess. Right now I have plumbago and thickets of a blue heirloom morning glory giving me an ample dose of “blue” pleasure plus several salvias that are sort of blue….not purple and not violet…hard to describe and equally hard to capture on my camera.

    Always enjoy visiting your blog and thanks for visiting mine.
    Jon at Mississippi Garden on 7-27-08

  6. Brenda Kula said,

    July 27, 2008 at 8:34 am

    I planted Blue Daze in the ground. But the Crepe Myrtle tree overhead needs to be pruned (again!) so mine isn’t blooming much. I have pruned and pruned this year, but everything grows back so fast! This is occurring all over my gardens, so my blooms are few and far between until it’s cool enough or I can get someone to climb way up there and do it justice! Send the rain this way!
    Brenda

  7. Jan said,

    July 27, 2008 at 10:11 am

    Thanks, Jon, I am so glad you are better and back to blogging since I loved visiting your blog. I love the blue morning glories, but find most to be too aggressive. My mother still fighting vines coming up from a morning glory a neighbor planted in the late ’50’s. But, I can’t deny that they are a beautiful shade of blue.

    Brenda, maybe next year you could plant the blue daze where they could get a little more sun rather than having to prune the crepemyrtles. If I get extra rain, I’ll send you some. LOL.

  8. Alexandra said,

    July 27, 2008 at 6:58 pm

    The blue flowers are lovely, Jan. There is something so calm and relaxing about them. Thank you also for your continued love, support, and prayers these last several days. It is really appreciated. I’m hoping we get the results tomorrow so we know what is going on, and what the next steps are.

  9. Jan said,

    July 27, 2008 at 7:08 pm

    Thanks for stopping by Alexandra. I know how hard all of this must be for you. I have been thinking of you and your family and praying that everything turns out all right.

  10. Philip said,

    July 28, 2008 at 3:24 pm

    I love blue flowers.i love the images you have shown. In San francisco light blue and soft colors look perfect in the brilliant light and fog. Up in Napa in the wine country a gardener told be she had to switch from these soft colors which looked so great by the ocean to stronger reds in the hot inland area. I thought that was interesting. I have enjoyed your site.
    Regards,
    Philip

  11. Jan said,

    July 28, 2008 at 8:11 pm

    Thanks for the kind words, Phillip. I can just imagine how lovely these colors must be in San Francisco’s atmosphere. I bet they almost glow. I can understand how Napa gardeners need stronger colors for the more intense sunlight. That happens here, too. I tend to grow the blues and other soft colors where they get dappled shade in the heat of the day.


Leave a Reply

