With a Twist of Lime

“With a Twist of Lime”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Last summer we bought a lime tree and harvested one lime.  This year our yield has gone up 100%.  Yes, that’s right two limes.   We had plenty of blossoms this spring, and many did set fruit, but only two ended up surviving.  Being that it is a small tree, it produced more flowers than it could support as fruit.  Citrus trees often take several years to bear more than just a few fruit.  We have been growing satsumas successfully for several years and decided to give limes a try.  Growing satsumas helped prepare us for what to expect from a young lime tree.

 

 

Because of lime trees’ sensitivity to freezing temperatures, we are growing this one in a container.  The plant is still small and easily brought inside on the few nights that we have a freeze.  If it gets too big to bring inside, we will have to plant it on the south side of the house and hope for the best.  But, I am sure that will be many years from now.

 

We bought the lime tree with the intention of using them instead of lemons for iced tea (really good with limes), to have with an occasional beer, and, with our mint, for making mojitos.  We have found the minty mojitos so refreshing in the summer.

 

So, even though there are not enough limes to make mojitos, I can have a few glasses of gin and tonic with a twist of lime.

6 Comments

  1. Mary Beth said,

    July 27, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    We had a lime tree for 6 years and NEVER GOT A LIME! You should feel proud of your two lime season. Thankfully, my daughter has an overabundance and she shares. You’ve got me thinking about trying another lime tree! (Surely the problem was the tree and not me 🙂

  2. deb said,

    July 27, 2008 at 8:17 pm

    My lemon tree has never even bloomed. I think the pot is too little. Durn.

  3. Robin said,

    July 27, 2008 at 9:50 pm

    That is what you call being a patient gardener!
    I put lime in my home made restaurant style salsa. It is so good!

  4. Jan said,

    July 28, 2008 at 5:22 am

    Marybeth, I have read that citrus trees can take up to five years to bear fruit. Frustrating, huh? They are heavy feeders and need a lot of water. You’re lucky to have a daughter to share.

    Deb, it just may be too young. Don’t give up yet.

    Robin, I can’t wait till we get more limes. There are so many recipes that use the limes. You are so right about the home made salsa with lime juice. It is delicious.

  5. Patricia Louque said,

    July 29, 2008 at 7:10 pm

    I remember when I lost half of my apple crop to a high wind. I had two apples and the wind knocked one off. LOL. It reminded me of your lime crop.

  6. Jan said,

    July 30, 2008 at 4:55 am

    Patricia, I don’t know how professional farmers cope with crop loss. I remember when I had three small pots of cherry tomatoes and a hail storm came up. I ran outside to save my three plants. If I had a whole field of tomatoes, I don’t know what I would have done. It’s funny how we feel about our plants.


Leave a Reply

