Bird Feeder Bandit

“Bird Feeder Bandit”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Today was my second day of waiting to be selected for jury duty.  I had to go Monday and today.  Finally, after waiting and waiting, I was released without having been selected.  It sure is tiring to just sit around all day.  By the time I got home, I was exhausted.  Since I was not home during the day to check on the garden, that job was left to dear hubby.

 

He took the following picture of a visitor that was waiting for him to finish filling the bird feeders.

 

 

He said she was in the Camellia tree just waiting for him to go inside so she could attack the newly filled feeders.

 

We only have about four to six squirrels now, whereas we used to have dozens.  We think it is the loss of trees after Katrina that has kept the population of squirrels down.  We have noticed the same thing about some of the birds that dwell in the tops of high pine trees.  Since so many trees were lost three years ago, we do not see as many chickadees or titmice.

 

But, back to the squirrels.  We have had a love-hate relationship with them for years, ever since we put up bird feeders.  Dear hubby is the one who really gets worked up when they wipe out the feeders.  He has greased the feeder’s poles, put every kind of baffle there is on the feeders, and moved them innumerable times to try and prevent the squirrels from jumping on them.  Needless to say, the squirrels win out eventually, though now, with fewer of them, it is not the problem it used to be.

 

Even though they eat some of the food that is meant for the birds, we do enjoy their scampering about and chasing one another.  Just like the birds and butterflies, they add a little more life to the garden.

8 Comments

  1. July 30, 2008 at 8:31 pm

    I’ve noticed a decrease in squirrels in my yard too, but I thought it was the dogs. 🙂 Actually we lost a large Maple a few years back and now we actually are able to get pecans from our pecan tree. The squirrels were so greedy they took them all.

  2. Jan said,

    July 31, 2008 at 4:41 am

    Oh, I know what you mean about pecan trees and squirrels. My mother’s neighbor had a pecan tree, and we always had a ton of squirrels around when I was a kid. I think our loss of squirrels has to do with less trees fo them to nest in and fewer pine cones for them to eat.

  3. Alexandra said,

    July 31, 2008 at 2:01 pm

    The squirrel is so cute. I had trouble at the last house we lived at with the squirrels eating the food out of my bird feeders!! 🙂

  4. Jan said,

    July 31, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    Alexandra, I think everybody who has bird feeders has trouble with squirrels. That is why there are so many products to foil the little rodents.

  5. mud said,

    August 2, 2008 at 11:54 am

    Squirrels are a pest no doubt, but I also have Raccoons that invade my feeders at night. I use a live trap and have caught 5 so far. I take them for a little ride across the river and let them go. Raccoons devistate feeders and do not leave a single seed or scrap behind. They are smart enough to unhook the feeder and drop them to the ground for an even easier dining experience!

  6. Jan said,

    August 2, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    Hi, mud, we have had a few racoons in the past, too. Lately, we have been trapping and releasing opossums who have become a nuisance. One was emptying the hummingbird feeder! I wrote about that earlier. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  7. Nancy said,

    February 2, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    The hurricane might have done more than blow down the trees. I had the unfortunate experience of finding a whole nest of very tiny baby squirrels on the ground after Ike.


Leave a Reply

