Finally Some Maturity

“Finally Some Maturity”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Finally, certain areas of the garden are starting to look like I envisioned they would when I started planting years ago.  Shrubs are getting to be a good size and herbaceous perennials are now filling out.  It seemed that for a long time the flower beds looked skimpy and spare.  When it looks like that, it is hard not to over plant to make up for the small size of the plants.  I used to fill in with annuals, but now, I find, I don’t have to do that.

 

 

Here is one area of the garden that is looking so much better this year.  The lorepetlums, azaleas, and roses finally have some size to them.  The agapanthus plants are huge, and the hydrangeas have grown to be substantial.  Daylilies, Mexican Bush Sage, and amaryllis are also now big enough to stand out.  Of course, certain plants will die back during the winter and return in the spring, but now there are enough that even in the winter there will be some interest.  Not like before when there seemed to be nothing come January.

 

 

Now that there is some height to this border, it makes a nice division from the neighbors next door.  The vitex tree, crybaby tree, cassia, and Japanese maple add the height, and the other shrubs add the screening.

 

Of course, some areas of the garden are looking better than others.  The areas that were planted first are looking the best, and this helps me be patient with those sections that are newer and not so lush.

 

It would seem that in the spring, with all the blooming shrubs and spring flowers, that the garden would look its best.  In early summer with daylilies, hydrangeas, and lilies in bloom, it also could be said to look its best.  I will admit that it does look good at those times, but now, that the plantings are starting to mature, I find that the height of summer is when it really does look its best.  There may not be as many flowers around, but there is a lot of lush growth, texture, and subtle color that makes the garden outstanding for me.  This is how I envisioned my garden would look when I started planting years ago.

10 Comments

  1. August 3, 2008 at 8:45 pm

    Congratulations! The garden looks great and it looks like all your hard work and waiting paid off.

  2. Jan said,

    August 4, 2008 at 5:43 am

    Thanks, for the feedback. It seems the waiting is harder than the actual work.

  3. Brenda Kula said,

    August 4, 2008 at 11:22 am

    I want to try that Mexican sage bush. I admire your garden, Jan. It does look phenomenal right now. I will be glad to get to the point you’re at, if I ever do! Right now we’re simply scorched around here. Nothing much looks good except what’s in the pond.
    Brenda

  4. Frances said,

    August 4, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    Your garden looks great. You did some good decision making early on to get to this point. It is hard to not overcrowd things when they are small. Filling in with annuals is a good way to make the time go faster as you wait for the trees and shrubs to grow. The texture of foliage forms and grasses helps you to see what needs to be tweaked, if anything. I like to use colored foliage such as red, yellow or silver when there are few flowers. Flowers really are fleeting, it is foliage that makes a garden great. Yours looks great to me. ;->

    Frances at Faire Garden

  5. Alexandra said,

    August 4, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    Your garden is lovely..very beautiful! Now, I’ve not ever heard of a Mexican Sage Bush….I”ll have to get my garden book out (newbie here).

    *hugs*

  6. Jan said,

    August 4, 2008 at 4:05 pm

    Thanks, Brenda. Now, if only all of the garden beds looked like this. There are some that still needs a lot of wor. I think you will love the Mexican bush sage. The leaves are a gray-green, and the flowers are a fuzzy purple.

    I agree with you, Frances, about the use of colored foliage. I have started using variagated foliage and coleus in with the herbaceous perennials esp. the daylilies. That way when the flowers are finished, there is still color in the garden.

    Hi, Alexandra. Thanks for the compliment. When the Mexican Bush sage blooms in the fall, I’ll post a picture. It really is a nice plant to have in a garden.

  7. August 5, 2008 at 3:52 pm

    It’s funny how some shrubs sort of sneak up on you – turning from something the size of a perennial into a plant with substance. I’m seeing a little of this in my garden, too, Jan. We’ve been here 4 years and this year a few things grew taller than me – our relationship changed when I had to look up!
    Your border looks great and you’re right about the textures and foliage keeping things interesting.

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  8. Jan said,

    August 5, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    Annie, I’ve had the same thing happen to me. Several plants were eye level for years, and this year they soared up. Thanks for the compliment about the border. Now, if I can only get the rest of the garden to look as good. Though, I am sure they will if given enough time.

  9. Phillip said,

    August 6, 2008 at 2:53 pm

    Jan, your border looks so good! Everything looks so neat and well cared for. Your hard work shows!

  10. Jan said,

    August 6, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    Thanks Phillip. Maybe one day my garden will look as lovely as yours. I still want you as a neighbor, so I could enjoy looking at your garden.


Leave a Reply

