Garden Workday

“Garden Workday”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

Well, with tropical storm Edouard in the Gulf, we have had a fairly pleasant day.  While it did heat up, there was a nice breeze which made the high temperatures tolerable.  I was able to go out in the garden and actually work, something I haven’t been able to do for weeks.

First job I tackled was the planting of all sorts of plants that have been sitting in pots waiting to go in the ground.  I had bought some four o’clocks (yellow and white ones) two weeks ago, and those were the first things planted.  I also put in about eight coleus I had rooted, and then some daylilies.  While planting those, I pulled grass that was creeping too close to the bed line.

Yellow Four O'clock
Yellow Four O’clock

Next, I started digging out some lirope that had crept too far into the flower beds.  That was a tough job.  Then, I dug up one of my holly ferns that is by the patio.  A few of those holly ferns are getting way too much sun now that there are fewer trees in the back yard.  I really wanted to wait until early spring to move them, but I had a daylily that would now be prefect in that place, so out it came.  That was the last job I did because that fern was huge (about a 5 gallon size). and all that work plus the heat finally got to me. I placed it in front of the bamboo with other holly ferns, and it should do well there.  The others that need to be moved will have to wait until spring.

Planted Daylily
Planted Daylily

At this time of year, the heat indexes usually run from 103 to 107 degrees.  So, to have a day when I could go outside and work for about 5 hours is very unusual.  It is almost as if God has given me a little present to compensate for my having to go back to work on Wednesday and not being able to work in the garden except on the weekends.

4 Comments

  1. Anna said,

    August 4, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    Sorry you got to go back to work but glad a couple of hours in the garden lifted your spirits. I just want it to cool off also and then I can enjoy it. It’s suppose to be 97 here tomorrow. I think our normal is around 85. This is the second or third year in a row and it’s depressing.

  2. Jan said,

    August 5, 2008 at 5:44 am

    Hey, Anna, I know what you mean about the high temps. At least you all get little cool fronts come through every now and then. We won’t get any real relief until mid to late September. Our morning lows right now are usually 81 degrees. That is one of the reasons we loved going to Blowing Rock, NC, the cool summer temps.

  3. Alexandra said,

    August 5, 2008 at 12:07 pm

    Isn’t it amazing what time spent in a garden does for the soul?? 🙂

    *hugs*

  4. Jan said,

    August 5, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    Yes, Alexandra, you are so right. Even though I was tired and hot, there was a sense of peace. Working outside with nature is good therapy for modern life.


Leave a Reply

