Summer Gardens

“Summer Gardens”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

What a difference a day makes!  Hot, dry temperatures returned today, so there was no real work done in the garden.  At 6:00 pm the heat index was 97.  I don’t even want to think what it was around noon.

 

I did have a chance to go out and fertilize everything since there was no rain forecasted.  I figure that there will be only one more opportunity to hit everything with some fertilizer.  Since I only fertilize annuals after September 1st, that leaves only one more time to lightly fertilize the perennials. 

 

In some ways it is hard to imagine that fall is almost knocking at our doors.  It feels like spring was just here.  Getting exited over new things emerging from winter dormancy doesn’t seem so long ago, and now we are thinking ahead to the end of summer and everything that means.

 

Two days ago, I wrote about how parts of my garden are finally looking like I wanted.  Another area that I am pleased with is the entry garden.  All the plants have done well, and I am so pleased with the color scheme.  Sometimes it is hard to put into actuality what is only a vision in our heads.  I have had more than a few ideas not work out, but, for this section of the garden, everything just fell into place.

 

 

The gingerland caladiums, red wax begonias, red ruellea, gerber daisies and the lady in red salvia have all filled in well.  I like the lush, thick growth here.  I was lucky that everything but the wax begonias overwintered.  That way they had a head start in the spring, and I had more money to spend on new plants since none of these had to be replaced.

 

 

Fall is my favorite time of year, but I almost hate to see summer come to an end because that means this garden will be winding down.  The caladiums will go dormant, and the other plantings will have to be trimmed back to allow for the cool season annuals to be put in.  While this garden does look nice for the winter, it does not have the lushness of the summer garden.  The fall plantings grow more slowly until springtime, partly due to cooler temperatures and partly because this area gets little sun in the winter months.  Of course, if a hard freeze would come through, then there will be nothing much showing but mulch.  I guess I need to start thinking of plants I could put in that would give this area some bones for the winter.  Right now the only plants that definitely stay year round are the Aztec grass, holly ferns and ajuga.

 

But, fall and winter are weeks away, and there are still many days left to enjoy what is here now – lush, summer gardens.

4 Comments

  1. August 5, 2008 at 7:40 pm

    Your front garden looks lovely. Pretty soon fall will be upon us and our gardens will get a rest for the winter. And we can spend those months thinking of new ideas for next summer.

  2. Jan said,

    August 6, 2008 at 4:14 am

    Yes, that is true. As a matter of fact, I have already thought of some changes I would like to make in several areas. I guess this is what keeps gardening fresh – constant change.

  3. Alexandra said,

    August 6, 2008 at 11:16 am

    Your garden is SOOOO lovely. I envy you! 😉 You know what they say about people’s gardens????….it says alot about who they are as a person. You are definitely a beautiful and wonderful person.

    *hugs*

  4. Jan said,

    August 6, 2008 at 4:19 pm

    Thanks, Alexandra. It is so sweet of you to say that.


Leave a Reply

