Bad Memory

“Bad Memory”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Finally, it is starting to bloom.  I am referring to the red bleeding heart vine (clerodendron thomsonsiae var. delectum).

 

 

I don’t know why there are some plants that I never can remember that they bloom or start showing up later then I think they should.  I have been asking my sister for weeks now if her red bleeding heart is blooming because mine isn’t, and she keeps having to remind me that it blooms later.  I even keep a written journal about what is going on in the garden, and still can’t help thinking something is wrong that a certain plant isn’t blooming yet.  I have the same problem with peacock ginger.  I always think it is not coming back and have to keep asking the friend who gave it to me if hers has shown up yet.  I don’t know if I have a poor memory or am just very impatient.

 

Anyway, I am happy that the bleeding heart has started showing flowers.  I have it planted in the ground, and it is growing up into a small tree.  When it sends out more blooms, it is a very pretty sight.  It does die back to the roots in the winter, but returns reliably when mulched heavily.  Now, if I can only remember when it is supposed to bloom.

4 Comments

  1. Anna said,

    August 13, 2008 at 11:07 pm

    I do the same thing. Good think there are sites now that will remind us. I use to pull up good plants thinking there were gonners.

  2. Jan said,

    August 14, 2008 at 4:06 am

    I am glad to see I am not the only one like this.

  3. Brenda Kula said,

    August 14, 2008 at 12:28 pm

    Is that plant poisonous to little critters like my curious dogs, Jan?
    Brenda

  4. Jan said,

    August 14, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    Brenda, I looked at several websites, and none mentioned that it was poisonous. It can be grown as a house plant so that may indicate it is not poisonous, but I do not know for sure.


Leave a Reply

