Rain and Daylily Plantlet

“Rain and Daylily Plantlet”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Nothing got done in the garden today.  More rain.  Today we received .78 inches by mid morning, and more is predicted for tonight and all the way through the weekend.  Here is what it looks like outside now.

 

 

Looks like it won’t be long before it starts up again.

 

This weekend when it was sunny for a while, I was able to get out and take a few pictures.  While I was strolling around surveying the garden, I noticed something very unusual.  One of the daylilies had started a plant part way up an old flower stalk.  You can see the beginnings of a root forming.

 

 

This little plantlet is about three inches up the old flower stalk and seems to be doing fine.  I didn’t know daylilies formed extra plants like this.  I had cut the flower stalk off and had left about seven inches from the base of the plant with the intention of removing the whole stalk once it turned brown.  I guess with all the heat and going back to work, I just wasn’t in the garden enough, and it never was removed.  The bottom of the stalk is still green with the new plant on top. 

 

Seeing this kind of makes me sorry I removed all the other old flower stalks.  Maybe I could have had more new plants all for free.

 

5 Comments

  1. August 19, 2008 at 5:46 pm

    I never knew daylillies sprouted babies like that either. How cool is that! I hope the rain lets up so you can get back in the garden soon.

  2. Jan said,

    August 20, 2008 at 4:42 am

    Looks like the rain is going to be with us for a while. TS Fay seems to be headed this way eventually. That is one of the challenges about gardening here – the occasional deluge lasting several days. It is pretty neat the way Curls sprouted a baby up on the stem. I just have to figure out how to pot it up.

  3. Tina Ramsey said,

    August 20, 2008 at 7:31 am

    This is called proliferation and many daylilies do this. Some even do it with the flower there still. Our local daylily breeder told me they do this and she said to cut it off and root it in water and you can propagate them this way in addition to division. But you know what? I tried that and it didn’t work, now I just leave it. Here is a website you might find interesting about it and what to do. http://www.tinkersgardens.com/daylilies/proliferations.asp Maybe you will have better luck than me. Thanks for sharing as I think not many folks know this at all.

  4. Brenda Kula said,

    August 20, 2008 at 2:08 pm

    It’s stopped raining for awhile here. Rained like heck all night and this morning. Now the sun’s out!
    Brenda

  5. Jan said,

    August 20, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    Thanks Tina for the info. Now, I know how to take care of this new plantlet to try and help it survive.

    Brenda, so far no rain yet today, but it is starting to cloud up. We need to dry out some.


Leave a Reply

