Plant Families

“Plant Families”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Something just occurred to me.  I have a great many plants in my garden that belong to certain families.  For example, the clerodendrums.  I started out with cashmere bouquet (clerodendrum bungei) and soon there were many more clerodendrums in the garden.  There is the bleeding heart vine (clerodendrum thomsonia), Turks turban (clerodendrum indicum), blue butterfly (clerodendrum ugandense), and glory tree (clerodendrum fragrans).  I would like to add pagoda flower and musical notes, both cleroderdrums.  I never meant to have so many cleodendrums.  In fact, when I first bought some, I didn’t even know they were clerodendrums.  But, I guess I just like that family of plants.

The same thing happened with the gingers.  I started out with butterfly ginger and soon added others.  I have both the variegated and green shell ginger.  Hidden lily ginger is my favorite.  Then, last year pine cone ginger was added after attending a plant sale at the New Orleans Botanical Gardens.

I know that some people have collections of plants like African violets or bromeliads, but I never expected that I would have a collection in my garden.

 

Do you have any favorite plant families, and are they in your garden?

4 Comments

  1. Anna said,

    August 22, 2008 at 11:01 pm

    How interesting and I guess I was doing it too. I am and have collected…phlox, coneflowers, spireas, rose of sharons, shall I keep going? I guess when I find something that works, I stick with it.

  2. Jan said,

    August 24, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    Anna, I guess you are right that success bring more success. I like the clerodendrums because each one can look so different from the others. Some are shrubs, some vines, some herbaceous. I also live in an area where they do very well.

  3. August 25, 2008 at 10:30 am

    Although I like your family, Jan, the only clerodendrum I have so far is the ugandense, which is flowering in my garden now.
    I guess my only Texas plant family with variety in form is Salvia with its annuals, perennials, edible herbs and shrubby members.

    Back in Illinois my clematis collection included vines that were woody, some that died back, herbaceous shrubby kinds and one that acted like a large 3-foot perennial suitable for cut flowers.

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  4. Jan said,

    August 26, 2008 at 4:18 pm

    Annie, it is interesting that certain plants attract us. I have several salvias in my garden and have started looking around to see if I have any more plants that belong to a group. I bet your clematis was lovely in Illinois. It is a shame more of the clematis don’t do well in our Southern heat.


Leave a Reply

