September Muse Day

“September Muse Day”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Today is Garden Blogger’s Muse Day, day to post a poem relating to gardening.

Thanks to Sweet Home and Garden Chicago for starting Garden Bloggers’ Muse Day.

Considering our situation, I thought this would be appropriate for Muse Day.

Hurricane

Lowell Bergeron

She is born at sea as a speck
And starts her westward trek
Unhurriedly beginning his life
Unknowing he will cause strife
Gradually growing to become strong
Arriving where she does not belong
Along the way, he gets a name
With the possibility of fame
Wind and rain bring out the fear
Destruction to what we hold dear
Anticipation causes the strain
And we respect the hurricane

I thought this poem was very appropriate considering that Gustav is swirling around us right now.  The winds are howling right now, but we still have power.  It is too dark to see what is going on outside.

8 Comments

  1. Rose said,

    September 1, 2008 at 6:59 am

    How appropriate this poem is today! I have been watching the weather reports and praying that the storm will miss New Orleans. I am glad you are in a safer area, but I do hope your trees don’t suffer from the winds. Stay safe.

  2. PGL said,

    September 1, 2008 at 7:24 am

    What an appropriate poem for GBMD. Be safe.

  3. Nancy Bond said,

    September 1, 2008 at 9:09 am

    Lovely poem and very appropriate! We’ve been following Gustav’s path all morning on CNN and pray that you and yours stay safe!

  4. Lisa at Greenbow said,

    September 1, 2008 at 2:06 pm

    You are quite right about this being an appropriate poem this month. Gustav and Hannah baning at the door causing much anticipation and dread.

  5. carolyngail said,

    September 1, 2008 at 9:15 pm

    Thanks, Jan. I am praying for all the folks on the Gulf Coast including my fellow Alabamians.

  6. Jon Pen said,

    September 1, 2008 at 11:29 pm

    Jan, Very appropriate poem for today’s attack by Gustav! Thanks for sharing it on your blog. I wanted to check in to see if you are OK….my thoughts and prayers go out to my friends, relatives, and neighbors in Louisiana with hopes y’all do not suffer damage from this hurricane. I am so glad Gustav has not been a repeat of Katrina. We are getting only light winds and rains here in Vicksburg, and thank goodness we did not lose power. Katrina knocked out our lines for about 10 days and it was an awful
    experience.

    Take care……Jon at Mississippi Garden on Labor Day

  7. Randy said,

    September 3, 2008 at 6:03 am

    Jan,
    I hope your garden didn’t suffer too much damage during the storm. You’ve been on my mind and we been hoping the best for you. It is so difficult to see something you’ve worked so hard on torn apart by wind and rain.

  8. Jan said,

    September 3, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    We just got our internet back so, thanks Rose for the good thoughts. I talked to my trees before I left and told them to stand strong, and they did.

    PGL, Nancy, Lisa, & Carolyn thanks for the feedback. We made out fine. I’m sure everyone’s prayers helped.

    Jon, I hope all of your friends made out as well as we did. I don’t mind doing a lot of clean up if my home and garden are otherwise okay.

    Randy, we were lucky. Many things are battered and knocked over a bit, but all in all, we came out fine. I have already been out and about trying to straighten some plants and pulling branches off others. If the rain would stop, I could do more, but, in time, it will all get done. Thanks for your kind thoughts.


Leave a Reply

