I Am Not Worrying

“I Am Not Worrying”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Hurricane Ike is pounding Cuba right now, and the projected path is bringing it near us for next week, but I refuse to worry about it.  After getting all upset by Gustav, I keep repeating to myself that I can’t control the weather, and so there is no point in thinking about it.  We have replaced the supplies we used this last week, and there is nothing more we can do.  We are prepared for another storm, but I will not worry about it.

So, on to more pleasant subjects.  Anticipation.  Now that the fall season is starting, I am anticipating the fall bloomers.  Soon the cassia tree (senna bicapsularis) should be displaying its yellow flowers.  This tree’s incredible blooming period always has people stopping by to ask what is its name.  I particularly like this tree’s yellow color because it is a golden yellow which is so appropriate for autumn.  This is another plant my mother rooted for me from hers which she got from a cousin.  This plant is very easy to root.  In fact, I’ve rooted two for other sections of the garden and one for my daughter.  I can’t wait to show you photos of it when it is in bloom.

Another fall bloomer that is also an incredible bloomer is confederate rose (hibiscus mutabilis).  It starts blooming in the fall and continues until early winter.  The flowers open up as light pink and turn darker as the day progresses.  Even though the flowers only last one day, there are many more that open in subsequent days.

This plant, too, is easy to propagate.  It will root in water.  I have had very good success rooting cuttings for neighbors and my daughter.

See, it isn’t hard to take my mind off the weather.  That is one of the benefits of gardening, just thinking about plants and flowers can take your mind off troubles.

5 Comments

  1. nancybond said,

    September 7, 2008 at 11:31 pm

    Ike really does look nasty but your rose should keep thoughts of that at bay. How beautiful!

  2. Randy said,

    September 8, 2008 at 6:41 am

    Jan,
    How do you root the Cassia? Do the ones you have die copletely down to the ground in the winter. I got one not too many weeks ago and I’m not sure what to expect from it.
    -Randy

  3. Phillip said,

    September 8, 2008 at 7:14 am

    Every year when we go to the beach, we admire the confederate rose that grows all over south Alabama and Florida. It is marginally hardy here and I’ve seen it growing around town but I haven’t tried it yet. You are right about the weather, there is nothing you can do but keep thinking positive thoughts and it will generate positive energy!

  4. Alexandra said,

    September 8, 2008 at 6:12 pm

    What a very beautiful flower. Very!

  5. Jan said,

    September 8, 2008 at 7:07 pm

    Well, Nancy, so far it looks like Ike may not bother us too much here in southeast Louisiana. I hate to see it go anywhere. I wish it would just die out over Cuba. I am still focusing on the garden and not Ike, though.

    Randy, I just take a cutting about 6 to 8 inches long, dip it in rooting hormone, and pot up and keep the soil moist. I usually do about three to a container. As to it dying completely down, here when my plants were small, they would die back after a freeze and return in the spring. Now that they are larger, they may loose their leaves, but they do not die back completely. Since you are a little farther north than I am, if your tree is not in a protected area, it may freeze back every year. That is just a guess, though. They may not once they are larger. These are fast growers. After Katrina, I cut mine back (in early Sept), and it still bloomed in October.

    Phillip, since we have had warmer winters in recent years, mine has grown into a large tree. However, when my mother gave me a plant, she said to expect it would only make a bush because it would freeze back in the winter. It did the first year when it was tiny, but now it doesn’t. Maybe, if you planted one, it might make a large bush if it did freeze back every year.

    Thanks, Alexandra. I love the double flowering blooms.


Leave a Reply

