Late Summer Roses

“Late Summer Roses”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

I have only recently started having a few roses in my garden because I always thought they required a great deal of work.  Here, in the deep South with our high humidity, high night time temperatures and high rainfall, many roses don’t make it without a lot of chemicals.  I just don’t like using chemicals around pets, wildlife and humans, so I need very tough roses.

 

Now that night time temperatures are abating somewhat, the roses I do have, have started a new bloom cycle.  Even though Hurricane Gustav was only a week ago and every plant in the garden has been battered, the roses have started their late summer bloom

 

 

Iceberg has several blooms and many more buds.  It should bloom into at least November here.

 

 

This pink rose is from a friend, so I don’t know the name.  I just call it Shelia’s rose, and it blooms any where from pink to a pale salmon depending on the temperature.

 

 

The Fairy never really stopped blooming, but now the flowers are a darker pink.

 

 

You can’t beat the Knockouts for flowering.  The above photo is Pink Knockout, and the one below is the original Knockout.  With the temperatures we have been having lately, you can hardly tell them apart.  Once cooler temperatures are here, Knockout will turn darker.

 

 

 

The above is a photo of a Blushing Knockout bud.  This has turned out to be my favorite Knockout rose.  It is such a lovely soft pink.  Growers are supposed to be releasing a yellow and a white Knockout roses soon.  I can’t wait to see those.  Maybe one of them will be my new favorite.

 

As the days and nights get even cooler, the roses should put out even more flowers.  Since these roses have survived and done fairly well, I may be adding a few more roses to the garden.

As Thomas More wrote:

Rose! Thou art the sweetest flower that ever drank the amber shower:
Even the Gods, who walk the sky, are amourous of thy scented sigh.

 

 

7 Comments

  1. Tina Ramsey said,

    September 9, 2008 at 9:27 pm

    That pink rose is such a lovely color.

  2. Jan said,

    September 10, 2008 at 3:38 am

    Yes, Tina, it is a lovely color esp. at this time of year.

  3. nancybond said,

    September 10, 2008 at 6:29 am

    Jan, all your roses are beautiful! I think the one you received from your friend is my favorite, as far as color goes.

  4. Alexandra said,

    September 10, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    The white rose is very beautiful!! wow! 🙂

  5. Jan said,

    September 10, 2008 at 4:36 pm

    Thanks, Nancy. I am surprised they look so nice after the hurricane last week came through with high winds.

    Alexandra, white flowers are my favorite, and I love the iceberg roses. Hope you are feeling better.

  6. fairegarden said,

    September 10, 2008 at 5:10 pm

    Hi Jan, those are so wonderful. There are several antique type roses that love the deep south, antiqueroseemporium.com is an excellent resource. I know the knockouts are over used in some commercial landscape plantings, but they sure are easy and carefree. I have three of the originals and two of the blush. I agree, that soft pink color is so pleasing, it goes with everything else in the garden. Mine have been suffering from lack of rain, but are still starting to perk up with the cooler temps even with no rain. I’m glad your garden is rebounding from the storms.

    Frances at Fairegarden

  7. Jan said,

    September 10, 2008 at 5:31 pm

    Thanks for the input, Frances. I have been on the Antique Rose Emporium’s web site many times but have never ordered anything. Maybe this fall is the time to do it. I agree about the overuse of Knockouts, but I have mine spread out in the garden, so it is not like the big mass planting of them that you see so much. Maybe your garden will get some much needed rain after Ike passes through Texas.


Leave a Reply

