Back to Normal

“Back to Normal”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Things are finally back to normal around here now that hurricanes are a memory.  The generator is stored, the yard is raked up, and the garden is pretty much put right again.  I started back to work this past Monday, so we have started to fall back into our normal routine.

 

I have started catching up on my garden blog reading.  Without electricity and the internet for a few day plus all the clean up needed, I have not been able to read many blogs.  It is taking me a while to catch up.  It is amazing how much info bloggers are putting out there in just over a week. 

 

Some more lycoris radiata or hurricane lilies have showed up in the garden.

 

 

My naked lady bulbs have come from many people.  My sister gave me a lot.  My son-in-law dug some up years ago that had come up at the edge of the parking lot where he worked and were about to get squashed.  And I got a few from a neighbor who didn’t want them anymore.

 

 

It is hard to know how to care for these little bulbs.  Some sources say they do not like to be moved and may take several years to bloom.  But, every time I have moved them the bloom very well, and others, which are undisturbed do not bloom.  Some sources say they like moisture, others say they like it dry.  I find if I just ignore them, they seem to do better than when I try to take care of them.  After reading all the expert opinions, I wonder how any plants survive without human intervention. 

 

But, any way you look at it, these red spider lilies blooming are a sure sign that autumn is just around the corner.

6 Comments

  1. Tina Ramsey said,

    September 10, 2008 at 7:09 pm

    Glad you are back to normal and got the yard cleaned up. I always feel good when my yard is cleaned. Kind of like the dishes, it is done! -for now that is:)

  2. Jan said,

    September 11, 2008 at 4:23 am

    Tina, you are so right about getting the yard cleaned up. I much rather do outside work than inside work. The yard will stay nice for at least a week or until the grass needs mowing.

  3. Alexandra said,

    September 11, 2008 at 9:32 am

    I’ve never heard of red spider lilies. They are very attractive. I’m glad things are starting to get back to normal for you and that you and your family. 🙂

  4. Jon Pen said,

    September 11, 2008 at 9:43 am

    Glad to see that y’all are getting back to “normal”. Folks in this region sure had a close call with Gustav, huh? Now here we go with Ike and I hope he is not too rough on the people in Texas. I liked your post on the red spider lilies. Interesting how some plants thrive with nothing but benign neglect.

    Best regards, Jon at Mississippi Garden

  5. Jeanne said,

    September 11, 2008 at 1:02 pm

    I haven’t started my hurricane cleanup yet, but I have to do it this weekend since they are only pickup up storm debris til Sept 15th… I’m jealous. 🙂

  6. Jan said,

    September 12, 2008 at 4:18 am

    Thanks, Alexandra, for the good thoughts. It is nice to get back into a normal routine. The spider lilies are pretty, & I look forward to seeing them in late summer/early fall. The color, too, seems to go with the changing season.

    Hi, Jon, glad you stopped by. I guess your surgery went okay. As I sit here, we are under a tropical storm watch because of Ike. Even though it is very windy, I don’t think we have much to worry about, unlike poor Texas. Aren’t the spider lilies lovely? They do seem to thrive on benign neglect.

    Jeanne, when you have no electricity, it is easy to go outside and start cleaning up. We did not evacuate and if you did, then I got a head start. Once it is done, though, everything looks so good.


Leave a Reply

