Finally Finished

“Finally Finished”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Well, it seems as if Hurricane Ike was not as bad as predicted.  Texas is still here.  I am so glad that there was not more damage.   I know that there will be some people who will not have electricity for weeks and that is tough.  Without a generator, you can’t survive two to three weeks without power.  Hopefully, it won’t be too long before they are back to normal.

 

We finally finished cleaning up our yard from Gustav and the new debris that Ike brought.  Hurricane Ike delayed the pick up of the green debris, but the local government should be around this week to haul it off.  We were told to place it on the edge of the street, and, luckily, we have a circular driveway, so we could place it on concrete and not ruin the lawn since the pile is about fourteen feet square and about four feet high.

 

 

It was overcast all day, so it wasn’t too bad working outside though drier air would have been appreciated.  I am hoping that I will be able to work in the garden tomorrow.  I have some Louisian irises, lilies and day lilies I want to divide and now is the time.  I can’t wait for cooler weather when it will be easier to work all day in the garden.

12 Comments

  1. nancybond said,

    September 13, 2008 at 7:49 pm

    I’m glad you avoided much of Ike’s wrath! That’s a lot of cleanup!

  2. Alexandra said,

    September 13, 2008 at 7:54 pm

    Jan, I am so glad everyone is OK. I’m wishing you a beautiful weekend. *hugs*

  3. Jan said,

    September 13, 2008 at 8:23 pm

    Nancy, we were very lucky. I don’t mind the clean up as long as there is no real damage to the house.

    Alexandra, thanks for stopping by. How are you feeling? You sound more upbeat here and on your blog. I am hoping Sunday will be a better day.

  4. rstair said,

    September 13, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    I’m glad you didn’t substain more serious damage Jan. What a pile of debris, the city is going to love you. 😉

  5. Jan said,

    September 14, 2008 at 5:43 am

    Rstair, considering all the debris we had from Katrina, this is nothing, so the local government should be happy. I know I will be happy when it is gone. Then we really will be back to normal.

  6. Alexandra said,

    September 14, 2008 at 7:09 am

    Wishing you a good Sunday!

  7. tina said,

    September 14, 2008 at 7:30 am

    That is ONE big pile of debris. We are now getting the remnants of Ike here in Tennessee. VERY windy. I sure am glad I live inland. Don’t know how I survived Hurricane Opal when it came through in 95, but I guess you do what you have to do.

  8. Jan said,

    September 14, 2008 at 8:09 am

    Hey, Alexandra. Back at you.

    Tina, I hope the weather doesn’t get too bad for you. I guess when you don’t get storms for a while, you forget how bad they can be. I remember Opal really made a mess of things far from the coast where it came in.

  9. Brenda Kula said,

    September 14, 2008 at 9:04 am

    We came through it too. Don’t see much damage yet. I haven’t gone to the west side of the yard yet where I have more trees. But we kept our power, so that bodes well for muggy East Texas!
    Brenda

  10. Jan said,

    September 14, 2008 at 9:45 am

    Thanks for checking in, Brenda. I was just wondering how you were doing. We spoke with a Houston friend last evening, and he is without power and has a pecan tree on his roof.

  11. September 14, 2008 at 5:23 pm

    Jan,
    I am glad to hear you are safe and your clean up is done, I have been in the garden all weekend doing the same thing…
    Jeanne “Nawlins Dawlin”

  12. Jan said,

    September 14, 2008 at 7:18 pm

    ND, I can’t wait for hurricane season to be completely over. Having two storms back to back is exhausting. Hopefully, now I can get back to gardening and not just cleaning up.


Leave a Reply

