September Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day

“September Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Thanks to Carol of May Dreams Gardens for coming up with GBBD.  This is the day (15thof the month) in which we post everything which is blooming in our gardens.

With two big storms coming through in less than two weeks, I thought that there would be nothing in the garden for GBBD, but I was wrong.  There are several plants with flowers in the garden.  Flowers that look presentable and not beaten down by the wind and rain even here in south Louisiana.

The peacock lilies (acidanthera) are one of the few new flowers to start blooming this month.

These asters that my mother gave me have started blooming in the last few days.  These always remind me of fall.

The Iceberg roses are starting to have another flush of blooms now that cooler weather is showing up.

Blue Butterfly Bush (clerodendrum ugandese) is one of my favorite flowers.  The petite, two-toned blue flowers are so striking.

Butterfly ginger appeals to both the sense of sight and smell. 

Coral Nymph salvia is just one of the salvia that is blooming.  Lady in Red and Mystic Spires are also attracting butterflies and humming birds. 

Light pink pentas join red, lavender and dark pink pentas in livening up the late summer garden.

This little miniature rose was blooming despite having tree branches fall on it during Ike.

The Plum Tree daylilies have been blooming for months, though, I think, this is just about the last of the flowers for this year.

This little torenia was a volunteer and was welcomed when I couldn’t find any this color at the nurseries this year.

This yellow old-fashioned canna just started blooming.  It must be a volunteer because I know I did not plant any of this kind in this area of the garden.

So, even though South Louisiana has had a awful lot of bad weather lately, there still are some nice flowers for GBBD.

 

 

8 Comments

  1. nancybond said,

    September 15, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    You have lots and lots in bloom, you lucky girl! 🙂 Beautiful.

  2. September 15, 2008 at 8:46 pm

    Oh, I do like that Blue Butterfly Bush. I have nothing like that in my garden. I’m happy to hear you came through the hurricanes with your garden intact and many nice blooms.

    Thanks for joining in for bloom day!

  3. Jan said,

    September 16, 2008 at 4:29 am

    Nancy, having a long growing season does have it advantages – flowers for a long time, if not year round.

    Carol, when I saw that blue butterfly bush, I just had to have it even though I didn’t have any idea of where I was going to plant it. LOL. I was very lucky that no tree limbs fell on the garden beds. Some came very close, but there was very little damage from either storm.

  4. tina said,

    September 16, 2008 at 7:33 am

    VERY nice flowers. I too love the blue butterfly bush and also the butterfly ginger. I bet they smell heavenly.

  5. September 16, 2008 at 8:03 am

    The Iceberg rose looks so fresh and classic, Jan!

    We’ve got two GBBD plants in common this month – the blue butterfy cleredendrum and the Coral Nymph salvia… it should have been three, but my white ginger is all leaves with not one flower …too hot and dry I guess.

    ‘Plum Tree’ must be one tough daylily.

    Happy Blooming Day – glad you made it through the stormy weather okay.

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  6. Racquel said,

    September 16, 2008 at 8:26 am

    I love the Peacock Orchids Jan. Mine haven’t started blooming yet. They are so fragrant. Great blooms for GBBD. 🙂

  7. Phillip said,

    September 16, 2008 at 8:37 am

    I planted Peacock Lilies this year and they didn’t come up. 😦

    I miss my Iceberg rose, I once had a beautiful hedge of them at the apartment where I used to live. Do you have the rose “Caldwell Pink”? Very old fashioned and carefree. I’d love to send you one if you think it would do well for you. I have several that have rooted this year.

    I bet Randy and Jamie would know what that canna is. It looks like one they have.

  8. Jan said,

    September 16, 2008 at 3:25 pm

    Tina, the butterfly ginger smells heavenly, but the blue butterfly does not have any scent.

    Hi, Annie, what a shame your butterfly ginger doesn’t have any flowers. Now that a little cool front has come through, the garden smells so nice because of it. Too bad you are missing that. Plum tree is just unbelievable this year. I bought them at Walmart years ago, and the last two years they have been blooming there little hearts out.

    Thanks, Racquel. The Peacock Lilies just started blooming, In fact, since these were planted two years ago, I thought they might not bloom at all, but they surprised me.

    Phillip, last year I planted some more peacock lilies and they came up but didn’t bloom, so I think they might be temperamental. I love Iceberg and bet a hedge of them would have been lovely.
    You are probably right about Randy & Jamie knowing the name of that canna. I think I have seen a photo of it on their blog.
    I don’t have Caldwell pink and would love one if you have extra. I’ll email you. Thanks for the offer.


Leave a Reply

