No Flowers Needed

“No Flowers Needed”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Yesterday, when I was looking for flowers to record for Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day, I was anticipating very few flowers because of the recent hurricanes.  I was surprised how many flowers still looked good even with all the bad weather we have had over the past two weeks.  Even though the flowers looked fine, there were not as many in number as there usually would have been without the storms.  One thing I did notice as I walked around was the colorful foliage that made up for the lack of blooms.

 

The coleus, which has rather thin and delicate leaves, wasn’t shredded as might have been expected.  It looks fine and adds color where it is needed now.

 

 

 

 

The perilla is just starting to flower.   Sometimes it is hard to find, so I always let this go to seed to be assured that some will appear in the spring.  Its lovely dark maroon leaves contrast with the daylilies around it, and the leaf color picks up some of the color of the Japanese Maple that grows off to the side.

 

 

This plant always reminds me of my father’s aunt.  Aunt Lessie lived in the country and grew this plant in her garden.  I remember it well because the leaves were such an unusual color at that time.  This was well before the dark colored foliage became popular, but now this old-fashioned plant fits in with today’s gardens which often features plants with purple leaves.

 

I am sure I could have found more examples of colorful foliage making up for the few flowers.  While we may feel that flowers are essential in a garden, we have to remember that may not be necessarily true.  So, for color in the garden, we may want to remember that sometimes no flowers are needed.

6 Comments

  1. Racquel said,

    September 16, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    Gorgeous foliage color.

  2. nancybond said,

    September 16, 2008 at 7:56 pm

    The coleus makes such an attractive companion for so many plants — my aunt always had them as houseplants, if I remember correctly… ?

  3. Jan said,

    September 17, 2008 at 4:37 am

    Thanks, Racquel, for stopping by.

    Nancy, I remember my father’s aunts always had coleus on their front porches. I guess that was a hold over from the Victorians love of coleuses. Just proves the statement: Everything old is new again.

  4. tina said,

    September 17, 2008 at 7:28 am

    Those coleus sure are beautiful colors! They look none the worse for the wear.

  5. Alexandra said,

    September 18, 2008 at 9:48 am

    Wow…I’ve not heard of coleus, but it does have stunning color!

  6. Jan said,

    September 18, 2008 at 6:43 pm

    Tina, I love coleus, though it is only in the last few years I have planted them in the garden. I used to just use them in containers. I was surprised they showed no damage from the storms.

    Alexandra, coleus are so easy to grow. You are going to have to try some next year.


Leave a Reply

