Fall Iris Planting

“Fall Iris Planting”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Still having computer problems.  Dear hubby is still working on it.  He didn’t get a chance to work on the computer today because he had an eye doctor appointment, but he hasn’t given up all hope yet.

But, on to more pleasant topics.  My sister and I ordered some Louisiana irises in late July, and she got them today.  We ordered from Zydeco Louisiana Iris Gardens.  This is a south Louisiana grower and it is nice to have a source so near to me.  I have been wanting to order from Patrick O’Connor for about two years, and this year was the year we finally got our act together and placed the order.

It was difficult deciding which ones to select, I wanted just about every one he had.  I finally decided on Irish Bayou, Marie Dolores, Poverty Point, and Persistent Cuss.  Of course they won’t bloom until spring, but if you check out the link above you can see pictures of the ones I chose.   The rhizomes are a good size and hopefully should produce many flowers.

My sister gave me some Louisiana Irises years ago, and that is what got me started wanting more.  After seeing the ones growing in the New Orleans Botanical Garden during a spring visit, I was determined this was the year to get more of these irises.  I just went on Zydeco’s web site to check out the ones I just bought, and I have already picked out some that I will want to order next year.  Oh, if only I had unlimited resources to buy all the ones I want.

5 Comments

  1. Randy said,

    September 19, 2008 at 4:56 am

    Jan,
    I’m sorry to hear about your computer woes. That is not a fun thing! AND, I am so jealous of your new irises, I’m going to check out that site a little later. I hope to be back working in the garden soon and I think I will order irises as my reward. 😉

  2. Alexandra said,

    September 19, 2008 at 6:55 am

    I’m sorry you’re still having computer problems. I hope you get them fixed soon. I checked out the link to the iris’…they are VERY pretty! 🙂

  3. tina said,

    September 19, 2008 at 8:20 am

    Have fun planting the irises. Can’t wait to see them.

  4. Brenda Kula said,

    September 19, 2008 at 11:59 am

    I always get catalogs and mark all these plants I’m going to order, then I don’t. I guess because I have never ordered anything but seed packets through the mail. And am afraid the product will not arrive well or something. Have you had mainly good luck ordering actual plants in this way? Because I really want some daylilies!
    Brenda

  5. Jan said,

    September 19, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    Hi, Randy, I haven’t been able to work in the garden much lately, either. What with the two storms back to back and the cleanup that involved, there has been no time to do even the littlest gardening. If it doesn’t rain, I am hoping to work this weekend. I like your reward system.

    Aren’t the Louisiana irises lovely, Alexandra. I am really looking forward to adding more to my garden.

    Tina, I can’t wait for them to bloom either. I think they will look very good in the spring garden.

    Brenda, I have had very good luck ordering plants in the mail and through the internet, but I do have to say I am very careful. Garden Watchdog is the place to find out how good a company is before ordering. After checking out a company on that website, I have often decided not to order from one that does not have a good reputation. I also try and order plants from companies that are close to me, and I never order plants that will arrive in hot weather. If you want a good company to order daylilies from try Oakes daylilies. I have posted several times about the daylilies I received from them. If you use the search feature on my blog for Oakes daylilies you will see photos of the ones and a link to Oakes.


Leave a Reply

