Saturday Gardening

“Saturday Gardening”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Here’s a little update on the tree frogs.  I was able to snap a photo of one of the little guys this morning.  Considering there are so many of them, it was surprising to find only one to photograph.  I guess they are camera shy.

 

 

I saw on the internet a story about a town that is being inundated with tiny toads about the size of our treefrogs.  A biologist said it is because of all the rain from TS Faye that the toads laid so many eggs at one time and now they have all reached a size where they are noticible.  I bet all the rain we had from Faye, Gustav, and Ike made favorable conditions for an abundance of treefrogs here.

 

I was able to work in the garden today.  This is the first time in almost a month.  For the last three weeks, all the gardening I have been able to do has been storm cleanup.  Today, I planted the Louisiana Irises I received Friday, cut back the yellow lantana that was taking over the circle garden, deadheaded the asters, retied the Mutablis rose to the trellis (it came loose in Ike), cleaned out the yellow daylilies, and cleaned up the border edges of the circle garden.  Then I watered everything because some plants were starting to wilt, and I figured it was too dry.  An hour or so after I finished, it started raining.  Oh, well, it is a soft, steady rain, and we can use it.

 

Our local government had a crew come by yesterday and pick up all the storm debris we had piled on the end of the driveway.  Now, our yard looks almost like it did before any of the storms showed up.  Because we have a circular driveway, we did not have to place the debris on the lawn.  I feel bad for the neighbors who had to put everything on the lawn because now there are bare spots some of which are very large which will not fill in this late in the year.  Some lawns look really sad.

 

I am hoping that the rain stops soon so that things will dry out for tomorrow.  I still have a lot of gardening to do tomorrow.

5 Comments

  1. tina said,

    September 20, 2008 at 9:47 pm

    We have had an abundance of amphibians here too. Sure would love some rain here. Sounds like you had a very busy day and got lots done.

  2. Jan said,

    September 21, 2008 at 4:31 am

    Hey, Tina, wish I could send you some of our rain. Yes, I did get a lot of gardening done today, but, as always, there is lots more to do now that cooler weather is showing up.

  3. fairegarden said,

    September 21, 2008 at 7:38 am

    Hi Jan, so glad you are nearly back to normal. It sounds like you have been super busy and it makes me feel guilty for not doing more cleaning up around here instead of walking around with the camera and hose! The little frogs are so TINY, I had no idea they were that small. So cute.

    Frances

    ps. like you, I love not having to fill all the info out!
    F

  4. Brenda Kula said,

    September 21, 2008 at 8:23 am

    I saw one of those tiny frogs the other day and wondered what it was! I had never seen one up close before.
    Brenda

  5. Jan said,

    September 21, 2008 at 6:44 pm

    Thanks, Frances, it is good to be back to normal, and this weekend was the first time in a while where things seemed normal. Now that the computer problem is fixed and the storm debris is gone, I can finally concentrate on the garden and the fall wrap up. Aren’t those baby frogs adorable? And, yes, I love not having to fill out all the info.

    Brenda, those little tree frogs never get real big, maybe two inches long. We usually find them hanging around the windows at night waiting for bugs.


Leave a Reply

