Purple Spikes

“Purple Spikes”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Lately we have been having some unusually cool days for September.  The type of weather that comes in October here in Louisiana.  Don’t get me wrong, I am not complaining.  It has been lovely weather, but a reminder that colder temperatures are coming.

I love the changing of the seasons.  It seems to give us something to look forward too.  I will admit that autumn is my favorite season, but it brings with it the promise of winter, holidays, and get togethers with family and friends.  I am very fortunate to live in an area where we can garden just about all year, so our gardens never really go to sleep as they do in colder areas.  But, to get back to changing seasons, the Mexican sage is starting to show their purple blooms.  I know other gardeners’ sage has been blooming for weeks, but, here, it is just starting.

I am so glad I was reminded in early summer to cut it back to make it bushier.  This year it is not flopping over as the blooms get bigger.  I serendipitously planted it to the side of some Mexican petunias and the repeating color looks very good in that section of the garden.  The purple spikes of the sage makes a nice contrast to the purple trumpets of the ruellea.

Because this plant blooms when the days grow shorter, I guess this is one more definite sign that even though there are still hot days ahead, winter is on its way.

3 Comments

  1. Racquel said,

    September 26, 2008 at 6:30 am

    It’s nice to have purple blooms in the autumn. Cutting back perennials in the summer does make for a nicer shaped plant come fall and normally you can get another flush out of some that might have looked spent & floppy by now.

  2. Jan said,

    September 26, 2008 at 6:23 pm

    Racquel, I agree about purple blooms going with fall colors. I usually have trouble remembering to cut the perennials back, but this year I stayed on top of things and love the results.

  3. Alexandra said,

    September 27, 2008 at 6:35 am

    Good morning, Jan. Loved your puple beauty! I have a beautiful dark pink Aster in full bloom that my mother-in-law gave me. I had never heard of them before, but wow! And talk about the butterflies on it! 🙂


Leave a Reply

