No Complaints

“No Complaints”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

I don’t know what it is about gardeners that we tend to gush about a favorite flower that is blooming or a shrub that looks just as we dreamed it would, and then, in the next breath, complain about something that is making our gardens less than perfect.  I hear this all the time, and I am just as guilty as the next gardener.  There are weeds in the beds, trimming that should be done, or any of the “if onlys” that spring to mind whenever we are in a “glass half empty” mood.

 

I was thinking about this as I was watering the garden this afternoon after work, when I suddenly noticed the ornamental sweet potato vines.  Usually by this time of year they have hundreds of tiny holes in the leaves, but not this year.  There are no holes from beetles this year which is a surprise since the last few years has been pretty bad for chomping insects.

 

 

Margarite is clear and so is Ace of Spades.

 

 

So, while I almost started this post by lamenting that I just can’t get back into any kind of routine after the recent Hurricanes, weeds are popping up like crazy, and I never seem to have time to read garden blogs like I used to be able to do, I was stopped short.  There is something positive to look at instead.   Maybe I should try to do this more often.

8 Comments

  1. tina said,

    September 29, 2008 at 8:59 pm

    We all should.

  2. Randy said,

    September 30, 2008 at 8:04 am

    I echo Tina’s remark, Jan. We should all try to be more postiive.

  3. Jan said,

    September 30, 2008 at 3:10 pm

    I think you are both right. We really need to look at what is going right in our gardens (and lives) more often.

  4. Alexandra said,

    September 30, 2008 at 4:10 pm

    Funny I should read this. We have been having a hard time focusing on the positive things going on in our lives here…we feel we’re drowning under the things bad things going wrong. Maybe we just need to swim harder…

  5. Brenda Kula said,

    September 30, 2008 at 6:03 pm

    Yeah, always good to look at the old glass as half-full, I’ve learned in my later years.
    Brenda

  6. Jan said,

    September 30, 2008 at 6:33 pm

    Alexandra, maybe you just need to take it easy. One day at a time is my mantra. I have found that things have a way of working out for the best, so try not to worry about things too much.

    Brenda, I agree, with age comes wisdom (sometimes).

  7. Steve said,

    October 1, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    Hi Jan and I agree with the comment above relating to us all……some days we swing with our great good fortune, others it just doesn’t work that way. We live in a world where bad things happen to good people, saddest of all. It makes us deeper and even more caring, for what it’s worth. And better people.

  8. Jan said,

    October 1, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    Hi, Steve, thanks for the comment. I agree, sometimes we can’t take ourselves too seriously. We all need to concentrate more on what is right with the world rather than what is wrong. It is hard to do sometimes, but we need to try.


Leave a Reply

