October’s Garden Blogger’s Muse Day

“October’s Garden Blogger’s Muse Day”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Today is Garden Blogger’s Muse Day, day to post a poem relating to gardening or nature.

Thanks to Sweet Home and Garden Chicago for starting Garden Bloggers’ Muse Day.

Gathering Leaves

Robert Frost

Spades take up leaves
No better than spoons,
And bags full of leaves
Are light as balloons.

I make a great noise
Of rustling all day
Like rabbit and deer
Running away.

But the mountains I raise
Elude my embrace,
Flowing over my arms
And into my face.

I may load and unload
Again and again
Till I fill the whole shed,
And what have I then?

Next to nothing for weight,
And since they grew duller
From contact with earth,
Next to nothing for color.

Next to nothing for use.
But a crop is a crop,
And who’s to say where
The harvest shall stop?

No piles of leaves yet, so this is the best I could do.

6 Comments

  1. Brenda Kula said,

    October 1, 2008 at 5:15 pm

    Beautiful poem! Perfect for this first day of October.
    Brenda

  2. carolyngail said,

    October 1, 2008 at 8:01 pm

    Great minds think along the same lines 🙂 Another blogger, Cindy, selected the same poem and it is indeed a lovely one. Thank you for joining our poetry circle, Jan.

  3. Anna said,

    October 1, 2008 at 10:49 pm

    It’s good to be back at your blog again. I missed being here.

    That is a pitiful few leaves you got going there. I can top that and then some. The cool weather feels great though.

  4. Marnie said,

    October 2, 2008 at 12:24 pm

    I’m always a little sad to see the first leaves fall. It signals the end of summer and the beginning of bitter winter. Barren trees, gray skies, brown grass. But October is usually lovely, we have that to look forward to.
    Marnie

  5. Alexandra said,

    October 2, 2008 at 3:58 pm

    Good evening. I hope you are doing well tonight. I just LOVE Robert Frost! 🙂

  6. Jan said,

    October 2, 2008 at 8:29 pm

    Thanks, Brenda. We have exceptionally cool weather the last two days, so it does feel like fall is really here.

    Thanks, Carolyn, I’ll be by to check out the other blogger’s poems.

    Anna, those really are a pitiful few leaves, but down here the leaves really don’t begin to drop until November, so that was the best I could do.

    Marnie, fall is lovely here in the south, and since we don’t have a bitter winter, we must look at fall a little differently than people farther north do.

    Hey, Alexandra, Frost is one of my favorite American poets, too. Thanks for stopping by. Hope you are feeling better.


Leave a Reply

