Good Color Companions

“Good Color Companions”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Earlier this spring, my mother cut back one of her plants, gave the two foot cutting to me with instructions just to stick in in some soil and keep it moist.  I followed her instructions, waited while the cutting lost most of its leaves (skeptical that such a large cutting would survive), and finally was rewarded with the above healthy, bushy plant.  I will admit I was surprised that this cutting survived, much less thrived, but here it is today a lovely plant.  I have placed it in a corner of the entry garden, and to pick up the pink color of the leaves’ edges, I planted a coleus with the same color on its edges right in front of it.

These two plants really set each other off and make good color companions.

5 Comments

  1. nancybond said,

    October 4, 2008 at 6:50 pm

    A brilliant combination — very nice!

  2. Mary Beth said,

    October 4, 2008 at 8:04 pm

    I hardly noticed the pink leaf edges of your ti plant (is it a ti plant?) at first – but I can see where the pink coleus really bring those pink edges out! Good suggestion

  3. Jan said,

    October 5, 2008 at 10:44 am

    Yes, Mary Beth, that is a variegated ti plant. Sorry, I didn’t mention that. The coleus really does bring out the pink of the ti plant. I wish I could have taken a photo of both together, but they just would not fit so that you could see the pink on the ti plant.

  4. Alexandra said,

    October 5, 2008 at 4:45 pm

    Wow! The color is absolutely beautiful!! I envy you and your beautiful garden. 🙂

  5. Jan said,

    October 5, 2008 at 7:03 pm

    Thanks, Alexandra, for the kind comment. I have been working on my garden for years now, and it finally seems to be coming together.


Leave a Reply

