A Walk in My Garden

“A Walk in My Garden”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Today was a perfect day to walk in the garden.  The air was dry and cool, and the sun was not the burning one of summer, but the softer one of autumn.  It gave a nice soft glow to everything.  If you came to take a stroll around my garden today, here are a few things you would see.

 

 

The Confederate Rose has just started blooming.  In a week or so, it should be covered with these double blooms.  The flowers open in the morning a very light pink and gradually darken as the day goes on.  This is one of my favorite fall bloomers.

 

 

The Autumn Sage has also started blooming.  The first time I saw this sage, I fell in love with the color.  It is not hardy here, so I make sure and overwinter some every year.

 

 

Blackie, the neighbor’s cat, has come for a visit.  She is such a sweet cat, but must be belled to alert the birds.

 

 

Here are some dahlias blooming.  I started these from seed a few years back, and they return every year.  Since we have mild winters, and these dahlias were planted in raised beds, I don’t have to lift them after the first frost.  These are small dahlias, not the big, showy ones, but I prefer this size for my garden.

 

 

Next, is a little tree frog on a coleus plant.  I wrote about all the tiny tree frogs that were in the garden after the hurricanes came through with all the rain.  This little guy has grown a lot since I first noticed them weeks ago.

 

 

The Pinapple Sage has just started to bloom and the hummingbirds are visiting it constantly.  I know in less than a week, the flowers will really be plentiful and should satisfy all the hummers and butterflies in the neighborhood.

 

 

The Mexican Sage is blooming now.  I am so glad I cut it back in June because it is not flopping over as it has in previous years.  The purple flowers with the blue-green foliage is so attractive at this time of year.

 

 

The butterfly ginger is still blooming and still sending out that lovely aroma all over the back garden.  I think this may be the longest it has bloomed, but that may be because I have more plants now that it has spread.  Next year, I will probably need to dig some up and move it since this ginger seems to be getting a little crowded.

 

 

Finally, we find Rusty sleeping just outside the back door on the generator.  Dear hubby was getting it ready to store for next hurricane season when Rusty decided it would be a good place to take a nap.

 

I hope you have enjoyed seeing the flowers blooming in my garden today.

12 Comments

  1. Patricia Louque said,

    October 10, 2008 at 11:00 pm

    Loved all the flowers in your garden. Ours up here in Virginia is all but gone. I still have some impatiens blooming but the hosta, peonys and daylilies are all turning gold and drying up. The trees are beautiful, but in a week or two it will be bare till spring. I have a flowering kale and pansies in a pot that will keep some color for a few weeks. Good to see Rusty again. He really looks comfortable on the generator. Love the blog.

  2. Jan said,

    October 11, 2008 at 4:44 am

    Thanks, Patricia. It is still a little too early for us to put out pansies or flowering kale. Usually November is a good month to do that here. My hostas are drying up, too, but the daylilies are still going strong. Rusty looks a little more contented now than he did in the picture after Gustav. He really seemed put out that the yard had so much debris.

  3. Randy said,

    October 11, 2008 at 5:01 am

    Jan,
    What a lovely walk through your garden, so many pretty blooms. I didn’t realize I should be cutting back my Mexican sage. Maybe next year it won’t split and fall over. Thanks for the tip 🙂

  4. Jan said,

    October 11, 2008 at 5:32 am

    Hey, Randy. This is the first year I cut mine back in June, thanks to Pam at Digging writing then that she was cutting hers back so it wouldn’t flop. I’m going to have to remember to do that next year, too, since that haircut in June made a big difference in how the plant looks in October.

  5. Racquel said,

    October 11, 2008 at 9:03 am

    Thanks for the stroll through your beautiful garden. You have some wonderful blooms still going strong. I’ve definitely decided to add Pineapple Sage to my wishlist for next year. 🙂

  6. Jan said,

    October 11, 2008 at 10:58 am

    Racquel, you won’t be sorry adding Pineapple Sage to your garden. The one pictured is “Golden Delicious” which has lighter leaves, almost chartruese, compared to the regular Pineapple Sage.

  7. Brenda Kula said,

    October 11, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    Oh, my pineapple sage died in the summer heat! And I just love the wonderful scent.
    Brenda

  8. Jan said,

    October 11, 2008 at 8:35 pm

    What a shame, Brenda. I love the scent, too. Reminds me of Pina Coladas.

  9. October 12, 2008 at 9:17 am

    Hey Jan –

    I was going to tell you about the beutiful new batch of ginger blooms I’m experiencing, but it looks like you are too! I cut back the cut branches of spent blooms this year and the plants sent up new shoots that are now blooming. I’m a happy girl!

  10. Jan said,

    October 12, 2008 at 9:35 am

    Hey, WG, I love the gingers. Mine are doing well and hopefully won’t be damaged too much by any freezes this winter. Last year was the first time I had so much damage, and we didn’t really have that cold of temperatures. Go figure.

  11. mothernaturesgarden said,

    October 12, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    My neighbor has a confederate rose and it is a blast of huge blooms right before the first frosts. It is always a welcome treat.

  12. Jan said,

    October 12, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    I got my confederate rose as a cutting from my mother’s plant. I, too, look forward to its blooming. In fact, I wish it had a longer blooming period. I have rooted another one from my tree and plan to keep it as a shrub.


Leave a Reply

