Garden Views

“Garden Views”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Today, I was able to work in the garden for the first time in weeks.  The last month and a half has been very hectic around here.  I just can’t seem to get back into any kind of routine, but, today, I finally was able to work all day in the garden.  It was doubly nice because of the cool, dry temperatures.  I was able to do several fall garden clean up projects that I have been wanting to get to for weeks.  I am hoping tomorrow to be able to start planting some seeds for the fall, esp. my lettuce and bluebonnets.

 

This morning, before I started in the garden, I went out very early and took some photos of how the garden looks this year in fall.  Yesterday, I showed some close ups of flowers that were blooming, and, today, I’ll show the garden.

 

This is the view from the front walk looking north.  In the foreground is a section of the entry garden, and to the left is the row of azaleas that divides this side yard in two.

 

 

 

This shot is taken at the North property line looking towards the backyard.

 

 

And, this shot is of the property line on the south side.  I just worked on this border last spring.  It was so overgrown with vines and ferns.  I wanted to keep it woodsy, for privacy from the neighbors, so I planted white lacecap hydrangeas, sweet almond bush, winter honeysuckle, variageted shell ginger, and ferns.  When the Margarite sweet potato vine got too vigorous for the entry garden, I transplanted some to this area, and it has added a bright green to this basically green areas.

 

Moving to the back, this is a shot of our peach and pear trees (which have lost most of their leaves) and a huge mound of sweet autumn clemetis.  It used to grow up a river birch, but we had to take that out last year.  I just couldn’t bring myself to get rid of the clemetis, so it has just grown in this mound.  I guess this spring we will have to put in a trellis for it instead of just letting it run amok.

Here is the border around the patio.  I will have to move several holly ferns in the spring because they are getting too much sun since we have lost several large pine trees.

The back corner is next.  Our lot is pie shaped, so this is the point.  This is where I keep the chinese hibiscus during the summer because this is the only area in the back that gets full sun.

Last is the north side with daylilies, azaleas, bamboo, and varigaeted shell ginger.

I just realized that I took photos of the sides and back gardens, but not the front garden.  Well, I guess that will have to be another posting since it is now too dark to take any pictures.

12 Comments

  1. October 11, 2008 at 8:32 pm

    You have such lovely tall trees across your garden. The first photo shows the nice sweeps of your bed. You have many interesting plants growing, not all of which I recognize.

  2. Jan said,

    October 11, 2008 at 8:39 pm

    Thanks, NS. We do have many tall pine trees on our property. That first photo shows my favorite part of the garden. It is the first section I did, and hopefully the other parts will eventually look as good. Living in the coastal South, we are so lucky to be able to grow a wide variety of plants.

  3. Racquel said,

    October 11, 2008 at 8:52 pm

    Your back garden beds are very lovely Jan. I like the way they are shaped and how full and lush they are with plants. You have some lovely shady areas. I have mostly sun areas in my yard.

  4. Phillip said,

    October 11, 2008 at 9:43 pm

    I like the curving lines. That is what I have. Your garden looks so lush and tropical.

  5. Brenda Kula said,

    October 12, 2008 at 7:54 am

    I’m sure there are small creatures in nature that love that mound you have! Your yard is magnificent. I’m envious at the woodsy, isolated look of it. Must feel like you’re out in the forest.
    Brenda

  6. Jan said,

    October 12, 2008 at 9:10 am

    Thanks, Racquel. It has taken a few years for everything to fill in like I planned. I wanted a very thickly planted garden to isolate us from the neighbors. We used to have more shade, but Hurricane Katrina took down several large trees, and even though we still have shade, there is more sun now which has benefited all the plants.

    I love curving lines in a garden, too, Phillip. When your eye follows the curves, it seems to make the garden larger.

    Brenda, thanks for the compliment on my garden. It does seem like we are in our own little woods. When we first moved here, the whole area was sparsely populated, but that has changed. As more area has been developed, I have tried to make to use plantings as a privacy barrier. That is one reason why I have tried to plant so thickly.

  7. Jean said,

    October 12, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    Lovely trip through your yard Jan. Interesting about your sweet autumn clematis. I have some that grows in the worst part of our yard – what was half a former alleyway. It scrambles over the broken asphalt and who knows what else. I’ve seen it mound like that and I think it looks pretty neat that way.

  8. Jan said,

    October 12, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    Thanks, Jean. The sweet autumn clematis looked great as a mound when it bloomed, but I think is is getting too big and would look better climbing up something. I am considering some sort of pyramid structure.

  9. Alexandra said,

    October 12, 2008 at 6:05 pm

    Your garden is absolutely stunning ,Jan! I envy you to have something so big AND breathtaking. 🙂 I hope you have a wonderful week!

  10. Jan said,

    October 12, 2008 at 6:14 pm

    Thanks, Alexandra. We are very fortunate to have been able to have a great piece of property to live on. We have been here a long time though I have only really put in most of the gardens over the last ten years. Living here just north of the Gulf of Mexico gives us a long growing season, so everything seems to grow like crazy.

  11. naturehills said,

    October 14, 2008 at 9:02 am

    In your setting I think the clematis sports an interesting look without a tree or trellis to crawl up on. Your garden is certainly well taken care of.

  12. Jan said,

    October 14, 2008 at 6:26 pm

    Thanks, naturehills. The clematis does look nice as a big mound, but I think that by next year, I better get something for it to climb. At least it is covering the river birch stump for now.


Leave a Reply

