Seed Saved

“Seed Saved”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

A few weeks ago, I wrote about finding a seed on the sasanqua camellia I bought last year.  I had been watching the little seed until the shrub started blooming.  When it started blooming several days ago, I turned the container it was in so that more flowers could be seen, and in doing so, I turned the seed pod to the back and forgot about it.  That is until yesterday.

 

 

 

Here is the seed pod on September 12th.  Yesterday, when I went out to check how the seed pod was coming along, I fully expected to see it on the shrub, just a little larger than before.  But, instead, I found the casing brown and burst open.  I couldn’t believe it.  I had lost my one seed.  I quickly looked around, and found it on the ground next to the container.  It must have opened only recently because it was sitting on top of the grass.

 

I quickly picked it up and checked to see that it fit in the seed casing.  It was a perfect fit, so I know I have the right sasanqua seed and not some other stray seed that just happened to be hanging around. 

 

 

The seed ended up being about the size of my thumbnail.  I planted it in a container and will see if it comes up.  I am glad I was able to save that little seed because if it had started to grow where I found it, I am sure I would have just pulled it up not realizing it was a little sasanqua. 

 

 I know if it germanates that it will be years before I see any flowers bloom, but I think it will be nice, if not a challenge, to see if I can grow a sasanqua from seed.

 

6 Comments

  1. nancybond said,

    October 14, 2008 at 9:17 pm

    Growing from seed is always a challenge — good luck with it. 🙂 Camellias are so pretty, and you’ll have a new plant for free!

  2. Jan said,

    October 15, 2008 at 4:11 am

    I’m going to try,Nancy. I’ve had pretty good luck growing things from seed, so I am hopeful about this one. If not, I’ve lost nothing.

  3. fairegarden said,

    October 15, 2008 at 4:56 am

    Oh Jan, this is really exciting! It is fortunate that you noticed and were able to catch this seed as it flung itself in the effort to propagate. I would do a little research on google to see if there are any tips or hints in getting this to grow. It is a precious thing and good luck with it!
    Frances

  4. Racquel said,

    October 15, 2008 at 8:50 am

    Good luck with your Camellia seed!

  5. Brenda Kula said,

    October 15, 2008 at 10:53 am

    We’ll be waiting to see along with you!
    Brenda

  6. Jan said,

    October 16, 2008 at 4:12 am

    Frances, I have done a little research on camellia seeds which is how I found out what the first one I saw was. Since seeds hold so much potential, it will be fun to see if and what turns out.

    Racquel & Brenda, I’ll post pictures when the seed does something.


Leave a Reply

