Garden Family Outing

“Garden Family Outing”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

Several times a year I go with one of my sisters on what we call our “garden field trips”.  We visit nurseries in nearby cities, buy plants, have lunch, and generally have a great time.  Twice a year, there is the Garden Show at the New Orleans Botanical Gardens, and I attend with two of my sisters, mother and sometimes my daughter and niece.

Well, this year we are excited to have an addition.  My sister from Virginia is in town, and this year she gets to come with us.  She moved away right after she got married, so the family has had too few opportunities for all four sisters to be together.  Since we are all gardening “nuts”  this will be a doubly fun time.

Touring the display gardens in the past, has given me some good ideas to use in my garden.  At the very least, I get ideas for new plants.  There are many plant vendors and the Botanical Gardens also sell plant which is where I bought my Turk’s turban, pinecone ginger, and coral bean tree last year.  It is nice when you see the plants set in a garden and can then purchase them at the same time.

I am hoping that the daylily vendor from the fall show will be there.  I bought some from them last time and would like to get some more.  I am going to try and have daylilies as my only purchase since I seem to be running out of garden space unless I make some new beds.

The Garden Show is Saturday and Sunday, from 10 to 5, so if you are in the area, try and make it.

8 Comments

  1. Sheila said,

    October 16, 2008 at 5:52 pm

    Have a wonderful time with your family. You are lucky to have so many gardening lovers in your family!

  2. Racquel said,

    October 16, 2008 at 6:24 pm

    How nice that you & your sisters share a common passion with gardening. 🙂

  3. Anna said,

    October 16, 2008 at 6:46 pm

    OH, how exciting–all the sisters together. There won’t be one quiet moment the whole time. Get some comfort food while you are out. Don’t forget to take pictures! This is a memorable moment and the world will never be the same. We need a distraction from the politics.

  4. Jan said,

    October 17, 2008 at 4:33 am

    Thanks, everybody. I’ll take pics and share the garden show with you. It is so nice that everyone in the family loves gardening. I guess we get that from our grandmother who had a wonderful garden. And, Anna, it will be nice to have one day away from politics.

  5. Randy said,

    October 17, 2008 at 8:19 am

    Jan,
    Enjoy the time with your sisters! Ya’ll cut up and have a blast.

  6. nawlinsdawlin said,

    October 17, 2008 at 2:50 pm

    Jan, I am so excited…. I LOVE the fall garden show! I will post pictures on my blog as well. Happy hunting and I believe the daylily vendor is a “regular” there.

  7. Mary Beth said,

    October 17, 2008 at 4:58 pm

    The only think better than your trip sounds would be sharing it with sisters. How wonderful for you! I love any opportunity to be with my sisters – and will be spending a week in the mountains will all six of them in a few weeks.

  8. Jan said,

    October 18, 2008 at 5:25 am

    Randy, thanks, I know we will.

    Nawlinsdawlin, yes, I think the daylily vendor is usually there for both the spring and fall show. I can’t wait to see the display gardens. You have a good time.

    MaryBeth, it is fortunate that we can all get together for a week. Only one sister lives away from here, and it is nice to be able to spend time together. Your trip to the mountains with your sisters sounds wonderful. Have a GREAT time.


Leave a Reply

