Garden Show Purchase

“Garden Show Purchase”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana 

 

Today, my sisters and I went to the Garden Show at the New Orleans Botanical Garden and had a great time.  Since it is late, I’ll share my purchase.  I was determined not to buy many plants, and I was able to resist many nice plants except one.  I was going looking for daylilies but didn’t find any available that I just couldn’t live without.

 

But, I was stopped by a white Confederate Rose (Hibiscus mutabilis).  I have the pink one which is just starting to bloom and had seen pictures of the white, but never one available for purchase.  It is the double variety just like the pink one.

 

 

When it opens in the morning, it is pure white, and by about three o’clock you start to see a little pink blush around the edges of the flower.  I think this will be a great addition to the garden.

 

I’ll be posting other photos about the garden show tomorrow after I get a little sleep.

5 Comments

  1. Gail said,

    October 18, 2008 at 9:37 pm

    Lovely! Isn’t it wonderful when you find jut the exact plant you were wanting! Gail

  2. Jan said,

    October 19, 2008 at 5:39 am

    Gail, it is serendipitous that I found the white double Confederate Rose because not four days before I was thinking how nice it would be to have the white version. The garden angels must have read my mind and made sure I would come across one.

  3. tina said,

    October 19, 2008 at 6:18 am

    It will go nicely with your pink one for sure. It is beautiful and I just love the doubles. Get some good rest.

  4. Brenda Kula said,

    October 19, 2008 at 2:18 pm

    That was my first thought: that rose is blushing. Beautiful.
    Brenda

  5. Jan said,

    October 21, 2008 at 6:13 am

    Thanks, Tina & Brenda, for reinforcing my thought on how beautiful this flower is.


Leave a Reply

