White or Pink?

“White or Pink?”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

The white Confederate Rose (hibiscus mutabilis) that I bought at the Garden Show Saturday has been blooming non-stop.  I have the pink one growing in the back garden, and I knew its blooms start out pale pink and gradually darken as the day progresses.  But, the vendor, who sold me the white one, was not very clear about it changing color, so I wasn’t sure if it stayed white or would change.  Well, Sunday morning, I found out it definitely changes.  There was a bloom on the bush that was still open, and it had turned a dark pink.  Here is a progression of color changes.

30 AM

Confederate Rose at 7:30 AM

43 PM

Confederate Rose at 12:43 PM

15 PM

Confederate Rose at 5:15 PM

By having the colors of the flowers change, it is almost like having two different flowering plants in the garden.

15 Comments

  1. Mary Beth said,

    October 23, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    That is just beautiful! and it makes the complete change in one day? Pretty cool.

  2. October 23, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    Wow…those are very, very beautiful!!! I want some in my garden!!! 🙂

  3. Jan said,

    October 24, 2008 at 3:50 am

    Yes, Mary Beth, it makes the change in one day. It is very pretty when you have several flowers at different stages of color changing. This is an old-fashioned plant that has been around for ages.

    Alexandra, this is a very beautiful plant. I just love mine and look forward to their blooming every year.

  4. Gail said,

    October 24, 2008 at 5:09 am

    Lovely photos of your beautiful roses! Gail

  5. Randy said,

    October 24, 2008 at 5:58 am

    Isn’t it amazing they way they change colors like that. My grand mother was always rooting them.

  6. Racquel said,

    October 24, 2008 at 6:52 am

    I love plants who’s blooms evolve with age. That confederate rose is fantastic!

  7. Jan said,

    October 24, 2008 at 6:55 am

    Gail, this perennial hibicus is so lovely at this time of year. Everyone wants to know what that tree is.

    Randy, these are so easy to root in water. I did some last year for my neighbor and daughter. It is a great pass along plant.

    Racquel, you are right about the color changers. That is one reason why I like the mutabilis rose so much.

  8. tina said,

    October 24, 2008 at 7:09 am

    I’ll take them all-white or pink.

  9. nancybond said,

    October 24, 2008 at 7:11 am

    How wonderful! All the colours are so delicate.

  10. Phillip said,

    October 24, 2008 at 8:58 am

    Beautiful!

  11. Jan said,

    October 25, 2008 at 6:14 am

    Tina, I am with you. This is one of my favorite perennials. It is so easy to grow and the flowers have such impact. Mine are buzzing with bees right now.

    Nancy, the colours are so delicate which is a nice contrast with other fall bloomers which tend to have deep, strong colors. I just can’t praise this plant enough.

    Phillip, yes, I agree this makes a beautiful picture. I am so glad I have these in the garden.

  12. nawlinsdawlin said,

    October 25, 2008 at 9:51 pm

    that is very cool… 🙂

  13. Jan said,

    October 26, 2008 at 6:02 am

    Isn’t it, nawlinsdawlin. The white makes a much more dramatic change while the pink confederate roses only go from light pink to dark pink.

  14. Patsi said,

    October 28, 2008 at 8:19 pm

    Everyone seems to have beautiful roses. I have none so far.(sun issue)
    Yours are just lovely.

  15. Jan said,

    October 29, 2008 at 6:51 pm

    Hi, Patsi, these aren’t real roses. They are a perennial hibiscus that have a common name of confederate rose. But, you are right that so many bloggers have such lovely roses blooming now. I have a few, but like you have only a few areas of full sun for roses. Thanks for stopping by.


Leave a Reply

