Garden Show Wrap Up

“Garden Show Wrap Up”, a copyrighted post, was written for my WordPress blog called Always Growing by Jan in Covington, Louisiana

We have had computer problems the last week and a half, so I have had to use the laptop which did not have my Garden Show at the New Orleans Botanical Garden photos on it.  The new computer is up and running and the photos have been reinstalled, so now, I can finally wrap up the Garden Show.

This is a photo of a Crinum procarum ‘Splendens’.  I was surprised that a crinum was getting ready to bloom so late in the year.  I found the burgundy colored stem and bloom to be outstanding against the green foliage.  The one crinum I have only has a green bloom stalk, so it really does not stand out as this one does.  Unfortunately, none of the buds had opened yet, so I do not have a photo of the flower, but Dave’s Garden does here.

The next bloom cluster was buzzing with bees and butterflies.  The bright golden color stood out from a distance.

I just love that golden color in the fall.  It just seem so appropriate for the season, just like a daffodil’s light lemon yellow seems to say ‘Spring’.

Since my sisters and I had such a great time together at the fall garden show, I can hardly wait for the Spring one.

4 Comments

  1. tina said,

    October 30, 2008 at 7:45 pm

    That goldenrod sure looks good.

  2. nancybond said,

    October 30, 2008 at 9:54 pm

    Those golden clusters truly are a beautiful fall shade.

  3. nawlinsdawlin said,

    October 31, 2008 at 1:44 am

    beautiful pics 🙂 it was a great time, i agree.

  4. Jan said,

    October 31, 2008 at 4:27 am

    I couldn’t agree more with all of you. Besides photos, I have great memories of the day.


Leave a Reply

